Updated: 30 November 2021

The stage is set for the IPL 2022 mega auction to unfold next month. It will be a grand auction, with the inclusion of two new teams. To recall, Ahmedabad and Lucknow have won the bid for the two news teams and will be added in IPL 2022. Before this grand event, all the eight existing franchises must declare the names of the players retained ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction. The deadline is 30th November 2021.

IPL 2022 retention will be live on Star Sports India & Disney Plus Hotstar from 9.30 pm onwards on November 30th.

Also Read: ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2022: Schedule, Venue, Qualification, Ranking, Winners

IPL 2022 Mega Auction Retention Rules

According to the IPL 2022 Retention rules, The existing eight teams can retain a maximum of 4 players. They will be allowed to keep up to 2 uncapped players. Meanwhile, the two new teams will be allowed to pick a total of three players outside the auction after the existing eight teams are done with their final retentions. This is done to ensure that the two new teams also have a good bunch of players before they jump into the IPL 2022 mega auction.

Salary Classification Of Retained Palyers

42 Crores – 16, 12, 8 & 6 cr – 4 Players ( First choice retention player 1 – 16 cr , 2nd choice – 12 cr, 3rd choice – 8 cr, 4th choice – 6 cr)

33 Crores – 15, 11 & 7 cr – 3 Players

24 Crores – 14 & 10 cr – 2 Players

14 Crores – 1 players

Franchise Purse Value – 90 cr.

Let us have a look at the players, according to media reports, who will be retained by their respective franchise ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction:

Also Read: The Ashes: 2021-22 Schedule, Venues, Squad, Time, Live Streaming, Prize Money

Retained Players List Of All Teams & Their Salary


MS Dhoni – 12 cr Ruturaj Gaikwad- 6 cr Ravindra Jadeja- 16 cr , Moeen Ali

CSK has announced that they will retain MS Dhoni for the next 3 seasons. He will also most likely continue to hold the captaincy for the franchise. It has dismissed all the rumors regarding Dhoni’s retirement from the IPL for the next three seasons.

The other three players that will be retained by CSK ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction are Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and one player between Sam Curran and Moeen Ali.

Also Read: India Vs New Zealand: Head To Head, Records In T20, And Test


Axar Patel- 9 cr Anrich Nortje- 6.50 cr Prithvi Shaw- 7.50 cr Rishabh Pant– 16 cr. all retained

Delhi Capitals have decided to retain Rishabh Pant as the captain for the next season. It was evident due to his good performance as a captain in the IPL 2021. Sreyesh Iyer wanted to lead the side, but the team management refused to accept his request.

The other players that will be retained include Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, and Anrich Nortje. Team management did not retain Gabbar, Shikhar Dhawan.

Also Read: ICC WTC 2021-2023: ICC World Test Championship Points Table And Fixtures


Rohit Sharma- 16 cr Jasprit Bumrah- 12 cr Keiron Pollard- 6 cr, & Suryakumar- 8 cr

Mumbai Indians will retain Rohit Sharma for the next season as the captain. The most successful captain of IPL, with 5 trophies, will be one of the key players to watch for. The other three players to be retained by Mumbai Indians are Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard (talks on), and Ishan Kishan.

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2022: Schedule, Venue, Qualifiers, Stadiums, Tickets, Timings In IST


Mayank Agarwal – 12 cr , Arshdeep Singh – 4 cr

Punjab Kings has already decided to part ways with KL Rahul. As a result, the team management will rope in a new captain. Talking about the retention players, they seem to be interested in retaining Mayank Agarwal, Ravi Bishnoi, and Sharukh Khan. However, they are yet to take a final call.


Venkatesh Iyer- 8 cr Sunil Narine- 6 cr Varun Chakravarthy- 8 cr Andre Russell– 12 cr

The runner-up of IPL 2021, Kolkata Knight Riders, is unlikely to retain Eoin Morgan as the captain. His poor performance with the willow is the talk of the town. The team management will be looking for a new captain ahead of IPL 2022 mega auction.

Also Read: Team India’s Non-Stop Cricket Schedule From 2021 To March 2023


Glenn Maxwell- 11 cr Virat Kohli- 15 cr , Md Siraj – 7 cr

Virat Kohli has already relinquished the captaincy of Royal Challengers Bangalore. However, he will be part of this team as the most preferred player in the retention list ahead of IPL 2022 mega auction. Apart from Kohli, RCB will most likely retain Glenn Maxwell and one player between Chahal and Adam Zampa.


Sanju Samson – 14 cr, Jos Butler – 10 cr Yashasvi Jaiswal – 4 cr

Rajasthan Royals has retained Sanju Samson. This is RR’s first retention with whooping 14 Cr. Sanju will continue team’s captain. RR is in talks with Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer Jos Butler. If they both agree to take part in the IPL 2022, Rajasthan Royals will retain them.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Prize Money, Start Date, Auction Date, Team List, Broadcasting Rights, And What You Need To Know


Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan

The bottom-placed team in the IPL 2021 points table, Sunrisers Hyderabad, will most probably retain only two players ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction. Reports suggest that Sunrisers Hyderabad will most likely stick with Kane Williamson as the captain despite poor performance as a captain. Apart from him, SRH is eager to retain only Rashid Khan.

SRH retained Williamson– 14 cr, Abdul Samad- 4 cr, Umran Malik- 4 cr. SRH let go Rashid.