ICC MEN’S T20 World Cup 2022: Schedule, Venue, Qualification, Ranking, Winners


Updated: 23 June 2022

ICC men’s T20 world cup 2022 is scheduled to be held next year in Australia. This will be the 8th edition of the ICC men’s cricket t20 world cup. The 7th edition of the T20 World Cup 2021 was held in UAE & Oman from 17 Oct- 14 Nov. The Covid situation last year forced ICC to postpone the 7th edition to next year.

This article brings you the ICC men’s T20 world cup, venue, schedule, ranking, qualification pathway, and other details about ICC men’s cricket T20 world cup 2022.

Also Read: Top 5 Players Who Did Not Get A Chance In IPL 2022 But Can Create An Impact In IPL 2023


The ICC Men’s T20 cricket world cup 2022 is scheduled to be held from 16 October- 13 November 2022. India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, England & hosts Australia, will be the participants. These 8 teams will go straight to super 12s. Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka & Bangladesh have secured their birth because they qualify into super 12s in the T20World Cup 2021.

Ireland & UAE qualified for T20 WC 2022 (qualifier A)

The remaining 4 births will be filled after the qualifier matches in early 2022.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Auction: 4 Players Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Might Retain Before Auction

ICC announced the fixtures of the T20 WC 2022 on Jan 2022, while the sale of tickets starts from Feb 7.

Group 1 – Eng, New Zealand, Australia, Afghanistan, A1 & B2.

Group 2 – India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa, A2 & B1.

Full Schedule of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Source – icc-cricket.com

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: Can Team India Be Able To Win The Trophy Under The Captaincy Of Rohit Sharma?

source – icc-cricket.com

Also Read: IPL 2023 Auction: 5 Uncapped Indian Players Who Can Cross The INR 4 Crores Slab


ICC has shortlisted 7 cities in Australia which will host the marquee ICC men’s T20 Cricket world cup next year. All these cities would be expected to stage the matches. However, it depends on the Covid situation which would be prevailing at that time. The cities are:

On 16th November 2021 ICC announces 7 cities of Australia which will host a total of 45 matches of T20 World cup 2022. These 7 cities are

Melbourne, Sydney, Geelong, Hobart, Brisbane, Adelaide & Perth.

As per the ICC media release, 7 venues that will host the T20 World cup 2022 matches are, MCG, Sydney Cricket Ground, Kardinia Park Stadium, The Gabba, Adelaide Oval, Bellerive Oval & Perth Stadium.

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Stadiums List

The semifinal will be hosted at SCG ( Sydney cricket ground) & Adelaide Oval on 9 and 10th November 20222 while Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) to host the final of T20 World cup 2022 on November 13, 2022.


86 teams are set to compete for 15 spots for the ICC Men’s t20 cricket world cup 2022.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 qualifying process starts from April 2021 with 11 tournaments across 5 regions planned to take place this year. A total of 225 international matches will be played in qualifying rounds across 13 months.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Auction: 4 Players Mumbai Indians (MI) Might Retain Before Auction

Hungary, Romania, and Serbia will be the new countries that will enter the process for the very first time. Finland and Japan are the two countries that will host the ICC qualification event for the first time, with 67 associate members of the ICC due to take part at the regional level.

Since the continents such as Africa and Europe are very big, both regions have sub-regional qualifiers feeding into a final qualifier for the region. T20 World Cup teams from continents which include Africa, America, East-Asia Pacific, and Europe will have one top-tier regional qualifier and Asia will have A and B qualifiers to know which teams will progress into the two eight-team global qualifiers.

The 16 available spots for the ICC Men’s t20 cricket world cup 2022 will be filled respectively by a single team each from the continents of Africa and East-Asia Pacific qualifier.

Australia, Afghanistan, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and West Indies have already qualified for the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 cricket world cup. A further 4 teams from the T20 World Cup 2021 edition of the tournament going on in, UAE & Oman this year will also qualify for the 2022 tournament.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Auction: All 10 Teams Released, And Retained Players List

Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, The Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Ireland, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman will lock horns against each other for those other automatic spots.

Nepal, Oman, Ireland & UAE are the four semifinalists of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Note- These schedules are subject to the Covid prevailing conditions at that point in time.

Also Read: Team India’s Full Cricket Schedule For 2022


NoTeam/CountryPoints Matches
3Pakistan 26130
4South Africa25827
6New Zealand25028
7West Indies24036
9Sri Lanka 23136
source – icc-cricket.com

Team Ranking as of 23rd June 2022

Also Read: 5 Players Who Were Retained Before IPL 2022 But Could Be Release Ahead Of IPL 2023 Auction

ICC T20 Cricket world cup started in the year 2007. India under the captaincy of MS Dhoni was the winner of the inaugural T20 world cup. The current champion of the ICC T20 Cricket world cup is West Indies.


WinnerRunner upYear/HostCaptain
1. IndiaPakistan2007/South AfricaMS Dhoni
2. PakistanSri Lanka2009/EnglandYounis Khan
3. EnglandAustralia2010/ West IndiesPaul Collingwood
4. West IndiesSri Lanka2012/Sri LankaDaren Sammy
5. Sri LankaIndia2014/BangladeshLasith Malinga
6. West IndiesEngland2016/IndiaDaren Sammy
7. AustraliaNew Zealand 2021/UAE & OmanAaron Finch

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: Most Expensive Indian & Overseas Players List Of DC,GT,MI,RR,CSK,LSG,KKR,RCB,SRH & PBKS

Latest Updates about ICC men’s T20 world cup 2022

Himalaya MEN, a very famous Men’s care product range, has been selected as the Official Men’s Grooming Partner for the International Cricket Council (ICC) men’s events ICC men’s cricket T20 world cup 2022.

The tournament is scheduled to be held in Australia. This partnership covers the world test championship finals as well as the men’s T20 world cup 2021.

Qatar will host first-time ICC qualifying matches. Qatar will join by, Maldives, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain & Kuwait in The ICC Men’s T20 World cup 2022 global qualifiers.

Also Read: FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: Full List Of Stadiums Ahead Of The Tournament

Oman, Nepal, UAE & Ireland – 4 semifinalists of T20 WC 2022.

Previous articleIPL 2022 New Teams, New Format, Live Streaming, And What You Need To Know
Next articleIPL 2022: 4 Players Who Can Replace Virat Kohli As RCB Captain In The Tournament