India Tour Of West Indies
Image Source: BCCI/ Twitter

Updated: 28 July 2023

World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25: India Will Play 19 Matches In 6 Different Series: Team India may have missed out on the Test mace in the WTC 2021-23 cycle, but Rohit Sharma and his teammates already kicked off the WTC 2023-25 cycle with the bang by defeating the West Indies by an innings and 141 runs in the first Test at Windsor Park in Dominica.

Yashasvi Jaiswal was named Player of the Match for his 171-run knock. India is 1-0 up in the series. Not only that, but India is now topping the WTC 2023-25 Points table, having won the sole match it has played, with a winning percentage of 100%. It is always obvious that the WTC winning percentage is more than points since no team plays equal matches.

India will compete in six series in WTC 2023-25, totalling 19 matches. Only England will play more matches than India, with 21 games, while Australia will play the same 19 games as India. Except for Sri Lanka and Pakistan, India will play a series against all WTC teams.

Here are the details for India’s 19 WTC Cycle 2023-25 matches. 

India’s Schedule For WTC 2023-25

2 Matches Series Against West Indies (Away)

India has begun its WTC 2023 campaign against the West Indies in an away series, with one match already completed in which India completely outplayed the host and won by an innings and 141 runs. The series’ second and final match begin on July 20, 2023.

Also Read: ODI World Cup 2023: Check When, Where, How, And At What Price You Can Buy Tickets

2 Matches Series Against South Africa (Away)

The next WTC Cycle 2023-25 series is roughly 6 months after the West Indies series. Soon after the ODI World Cup 2023, India will play 2 match series versus South Africa. This series will be hosted by South Africa, making it India’s second consecutive away series in WTC 2023-25.

India will attempt to win this series even though the men in blue have never won a test series in South Africa. The schedule for this series has already been revealed. The first test will be played on Boxing Day in Durban. The second test will take held from January 3 to 7, 2024.

5 Matches Series Against England (Home)

England will travel to India for five test matches at the start of next year. The dates have yet to be announced, but England is anticipated to travel to India before the 2024 T20 World Cup.

India began the last World Cup by touring England, however the series was tied as both India and England won two matches. The last time England won a test series in India was in 2012. 

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023: ODI Stats Of All The Captains Of Qualified Teams

2 Matches Series Against Bangladesh (Home)

Continuing their domestic campaign, India will then host Bangladesh for a two-Test series in September and October 2024. Dates have yet to be announced since it is too early.

Bangladesh has never won a home or away series against India. Aside from 2015, this was the first and only time Bangladesh drew a one-match test series.

3 Matches Series Against New Zealand (Home)

India will play their last WTC Cycle 2023-25 home series against New Zealand in late 2024 or early 2025. It is expected that New Zealand would travel India for a Multi Format series, which will include this test series.

The Kiwis have never won a test series in India, but they are the first WTC champions. They defeated India in the WTC 2019-21 finals and earned the test mace.

5 Matches Series Against Australia (Away)

India will meet the defending champions Australia in the final series of the current WTC cycle. This time, though, India will go to Australia to compete for the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

India also played the last series of the previous WTC cycle against Australia but in home conditions. According to recent statistics, Australia has failed to win a test series against India since 2014-15. Be it at home or away.

Also Read: Who Will Win Asia Cup 2023? Predictions

World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Points Table & Standings

West Indies2010/10416.67
Sri Lanka1010/00000
New Zealand
South Africa