Image Source- BBL

Updated: 30 August 2022

Big Bash League (BBL) 2022-2023: Format, Teams, Venue, Schedule, Broadcasting Rights, And Winners List. Big Bash League (BBL) is the world’s second most popular cricket league after IPL, in terms of audience footfall. It was started by Cricket Australia in 2011. It is known as KFC T20 Big Bash League. Australian cricket board analyzed the first three seasons of the IPL (Indian Premier League) from 2008.

It came to the conclusion that seeing enough domestic talent available in the country, they could be best utilized and nurtured. So, they started this t20 cricket league and scheduled it during the summer season, that is, Dec-Jan. The BBL 11th season winner was Perth Scorchers. The 12th season will take place from Dec 2022-Jan 2023.

Big Bash League (BBL) 2022-23 Schedule- 13 Dec 2022- 4 Feb 2023.

Also Read: Asia Cup Cricket 2022: Schedule, Venue, Teams, Time Table, And Winners List


The Big Bash is a t20 cricket league that has 8 teams. Here, every team plays another team twice. So, they get to play 14 games before the knockout stage. In the knockout stage, 5 teams lock horns against each other, and the bottom 3 teams get eliminated. There is a total of 8 teams that participate in BBL. These are mentioned below:

Adelaide Strikers

Brisbane Heat

Hobart Hurricanes

Melbourne Renegades

Melbourne Stars

Perth Scorchers

Sydney Sixers

Sydney Thunder

Also Read: Asia Cup 2022: Full List Of Man Of The Match Award And Results

Also Read: PSL(Pakistan Super League) 2023: Teams, Venue, Format, Schedule, Broadcasters, Winners List, And All You Need To Know

BBL 2022-2023 VENUE

Australia has one of the highest numbers of cricket grounds. They make use of all the popular cricket fields for the Big Bash League. You can refer to this list of BBL venues:

Sydney Cricket Ground

Melbourne Cricket Ground

Adelaide Oval

The Gabba

Blundstone Arena (Bellerive Oval)

Manuka Oval

University of Tasmania Stadium

Metricon Stadium (Carrara Stadium)

Optus Stadium (Perth Stadium)

Marvel Stadium (Docklands Stadium)

Sydney Showground Stadium

Coffs Harbour International Stadium

CitiPower Centre

GMHBA Stadium

Also Read: IPL 2023: 5 Players Who Can Win The Purple Cap


The Big Bash 2022-2023 schedule is- 13 D – 4 F


Big Bash, over the years, has garnered massive popularity. It is widely broadcasted across the globe. The list of tv channels that broadcast the BBL globally are:

AustraliaFox Cricket, Kayo Sports, Channel Seven (45 matches)
New ZealandSky Sport NZ
Indian Sub-continentSony SIX, Sony SIX HD, Sony Ten 2, Sony Ten 2 HD
United KingdomBT Sport
PakistanTen Sports Pakistan
The Middle East and North AfricabeIN SPORTS
South Africa and Sub-Saharan AfricaSuperSport
CaribbeanSports Max, Flow Sports
United StatesWillow TV
CanadaCBN, ATN Cricket Plus
Southeast AsiaFox Sports Asia


Out of the 8 teams, 6 have won the BBL at least once. Perth Scorchers is the most successful team, with 4 titles, while the Sydney Sixers have won it thrice. The winner’s list in all BBL seasons is mentioned below:

YearWinner teamRunners-Up team
2021-22Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne Stars
2018Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars
2017Adelaide StrikersHobart Hurricanes
2016Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2014Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2013Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes
2012Brisbane HeatPerth Scorchers
2011Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers