Updated: 31 March 2023

The IPL 2022 Mega Auction has concluded about a week ago and all the 10 franchises are ready with their respective squads. While some franchises were able to build very strong teams, some were unable to do so but all 10 of them look contented with their player list. 

After all, winning the Indian Premier League does not solely depend on setting up a very good team on paper. The chemistry between the players and their performance on the ground is what matters after all. Probably that is why not many teams have been able to lift the prestigious IPL Trophy in its history of 14 long years.

However, another thing that matters the most in the Indian Premier League is finding the right captain. Not more than 6 captains have been able to lift the IPL trophy and there’s a good reason why. In a league as competitive as the IPL, you need a very good captain who can pave your path to victory. Rohit Sharma and Mahendra Singh Dhoni are good examples of that. They are the two most successful captains of the Indian Premier League. 

Also Read: IPL 2023: Live Streaming, Opening Ceremony, Captains And Prize Money Details

IPL 2022 All Teams Captains

5 out of the 10 teams have stuck to their previous captains. They are – Chennai Super Kings (Mahendra Singh Dhoni), Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma), Rajasthan Royals (Sanju Samson), Sunrisers Hyderabad (Kane Williamson) and Delhi Capitals (Rishabh Pant). The other 5 have found new captains. 

The two new sides Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans had already declared after finishing their drafts that their new captains would be KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya respectively. KKR on the other hand announced a day after Mega Auction that their new signing Shreyas Iyer would be their captain for IPL 2022. 

Also Read: 3 Rule Changes In The T20 Format, That Can Make IPL 2023 More Interesting

The only two teams left were Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. It is being reported that Punjab Kings will be making Mayank Agarwal their captain while RCB has decided to go with former South Africa captain Faf du Plessis. 

In this table given below, we shall be taking a look at the captains of each team, their salary in IPL 2022, their total salary, their stats in IPL, and their net worth. 

IPL 2022: Captains Of All 10 Teams, Stats, Their IPL Salary & Net Worth

Sl No. CaptainTeamIPL 2022 SalaryTotal Earning from IPLRuns in IPLNet Worth
1Ravindra JadejaChennai Super Kings16 Crores₹ 930,100,0002477$14 Million
2Rohit SharmaMumbai Indians16 Crores₹ 1,626,000,0005764$24 Million
3Sanju SamsonRajasthan Royals14 Crores₹ 625,800,0003269$9 Million
4Mayank AgarwalPunjab Kings12 Crores₹ 227,000,0002249$3.5 Million
5Faf du PlessisRCB7 Crores₹ 334,444,8003190$14 Million
6Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad14 Crores₹ 278,000,0002028$10 Million
7Shreyas IyerKolkata Knight Riders12 Crores₹ 480,500,0002623$5.7 Million
8Rishabh PantDelhi Capitals16 Crores₹ 588,000,0002686$8.5 Million
9KL RahulLucknow Super Giants17 Crores₹ 651,000,0003641$10 Million
10Hardik PandyaGujarat Titans15 Crores₹ 593,000,0001771$9 Million