Image Source- IPL

Updated: 22 March 2024

IPL Team Captains List From 2008 To Date. Captains are one of the most important aspects of the game of cricket, especially in a format as challenging as the Indian Premier League. The importance of captaincy in the IPL is understood by the fact that only 6 captains have been able to lift the IPL Trophy To date. Rohit Sharma holds the record for lifting the most number of IPL trophies – 5. The closest to him is Mahendra Singh Dhoni with 4 IPL titles as a captain of CSK.

The only seven captains to have won the IPL are – Rohit Sharma (5), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (4), Shane Warne (1), Gautam Gambhir (2), and David Warner (1), Adam Gilchrist (1), & Hardik Pandya (1).

In this article, we talk about the captaincy history of all the teams that have taken part in the Indian Premier League over its 17 years’ worth of experiences.

Chennai Super Kings

Ravindra Jadeja – Out of the 14 seasons of the Indian Premier League, CSK has featured in every season except in IPL 2016 and IPL 2017. They were banned in those two seasons due to the spot-fixing controversy.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Players List 2024: Full Squad, Their IPL Stats, And Probable Playing XI For Tournament

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been the captain of CSK for all the seasons they have played. except in IPL 2022 for a few matches where Ravindra Jadeja was made the team captain. On March 21 MSD stepped down as the captain of Chennai. In the 17th season of IPL Ruturaj Gaikwad will lead the team.

Mumbai Indians

Sachin Tendulkar – Sachin Tendulkar was the captain of Mumbai Indians for the first four seasons, i.e, IPL 2008 to IPL 2011. Unfortunately under his captaincy, Mumbai Indians could not win even a single trophy.

Harbhajan Singh – Harbhajan Singh was the captain of Mumbai Indians in some matches between 2008 and 2011 when Sachin Tendulkar was rested and he was the captain of the Mumbai Indians team that won the Champions League T20 trophy.

Ricky Ponting – Former Australian Captain Ricky Ponting was the captain of Mumbai Indians for only one season – IPL 2013. However, he did not lead the team for the entire season. Due to his poor performances, he himself dropped him from captaincy and suggested the authorities make Rohit Sharma the captain instead. And the rest is history.

Rohit Sharma – Rohit Sharma made his captaincy debut in IPL 2013 and has been their captain since then. He is the most successful captain in IPL’s History with 5 IPL trophies.

Hardik Pandya- A few days back MI management announced that in IPL 2024 Hardik Pandya will lead the team.

Also Read: Mumbai Indians (MI) IPL 2024 Players List: Full Squad, Their IPL Stats, And Probable Playing XI

Royal Challengers Bengaluru

Rahul Dravid – Rahul Dravid was the first-ever captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore. He was the captain of the team in IPL 2008.

Anil Kumble – Anil Kumble took over the captaincy of RCB from Rahul Dravid in IPL 2009. He led the side for two years – 2009 and 2010. He led the side in 35 matches out of which he won 19 and lost 13.

Daniel Vettori – Daniel Vettori was the captain of RCB in IPL 2011 and IPL 2012. He led them in 28 matches, won 15 matches, and lost 13 of them.

Virat Kohli – Virat Kohli was the most prominent captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore. He was the captain of RCB from 2013 to 2021. He gave up captaincy to last year and is now a part of the team as just a batsman. Faf du Plessis is the new captain of RCB.

Faf du Plessis- 2022 to date

Also Read: IPL 2024 Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Players List: Full Squad, Their IPL Stats, And Probable Playing XI

Rajasthan Royals

Shane Warne 2008- 11
Rahul Dravid 2014-14
Shane Watson 2015
Ajinkya Rahane 2018,19
Steve Smith 2020
Sanju Samson2021-

Delhi Capitals

Virender Sehwag2008,9,11,12
Gautam Gambhir2010
Mahela Jayawardene2013
Kevin Pieterson2014
JP Duminy2015,16
Zaheer Khan2017
Shreyas Iyer2018-20
Rishabh Pant2021-22
David Warner2023
Rishabh Pant2024

Also Read: DC IPL 2024 Players List: Delhi Capitals Full Squad, Their IPL Stats, Probable Playing XI, Match List, And Venues

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kumar Sangakkara &
Cameron White
Shikhar Dhawan2014
Daren Sammy2014
Kane Williamson2018
Bhuvneshwar Kumar2019
David Warner 2015-21
Kane Williamson2021-22
Aiden Markram 2023
Pat Cummins2024

Also Read: IPL 2024 Squads: Full List Of Players With Injury Updates And Replacement Of All 10 Teams

Kolkata Knight Riders

Sourav Ganguly – IPL 2008 to IPL 2010

Gautam Gambhir – IPL 2011 to IPL 2017

Dinesh Karthik – IPL 2018 to IPL 2020

Eoin Morgan – IPL 2020 to IPL 2021

Shreyas Iyer – IPL 2022

Nitish Rana- IPL 2023

Shreyas Iyer- IPL 2024

Also Read: IPL 2024: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Players List 2024: Full Squad, Their IPL Stats, And Probable Playing XI For Tournament

Punjab Kings

Yuvraj Singh – IPL 2008 to IPL 2009

Kumar Sangakara – IPL 2010

Adam Gilchrist – IPL 2011-13

George Bailey – IPL 2014-15

David Miller – IPL 2016

Glen Maxwell – IPL 2017

Ravichandran Ashwin – IPL 2018 to IPL 2019

KL Rahul – IPL 2020 to 2021

Mayank Agarwal – 2023

Shkhar Dhawan- 2023

Also Read: IPL 2024: Top 5 Overseas Batsmen (Current) With Highest Strike Rate In IPL

Gujarat Titans (GT) –

Hardik Pandya (IPL 2022), Shubman Gill is the new captain of GT

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) – KL Rahul (IPL 2023-)