IPL Team Captains List From 2008 To Date


Updated: 7 May 2022

Captains are one of the most important aspects of the game of cricket, especially in a format as challenging as the Indian Premier League. The importance of captaincy in IPL is understood by the fact that only 6 captains have been able to lift the IPL Trophy To date. Rohit Sharma holds the record for lifting the most number of IPL trophies – 5. The closest to him is Mahendra Singh Dhoni with 4 IPL titles as a captain of CSK.

Also Read: Who Will Win IPL 2022, Prediction

The only six captains to have won the IPL are – Rohit Sharma (5), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (4), Shane Warne (1), Gautam Gambhir (2), and David Warner (1), Adam Gilchrist (1).

In this article, we talk about the captaincy history of all the teams that have taken part in the Indian Premier League over its 14 years’ worth of experiences.

Chennai Super Kings

Ravindra Jadeja – Out of the 14 seasons of the Indian Premier League, CSK has featured in every season except in IPL 2016 and IPL 2017. They were banned in those two seasons due to the spot-fixing controversy.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Schedule PDF Download

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been the captain of CSK for all the seasons they have played. A few days back MSD leave the captaincy of CSK and handed over this responsibility to Jadeja.

Mumbai Indians

Sachin Tendulkar – Sachin Tendulkar was the captain of Mumbai Indians for the first four seasons, i.e, IPL 2008 to IPL 2011. Unfortunately under his captaincy, Mumbai Indians could not win even a single trophy.

Harbhajan Singh – Harbhajan Singh was the captain of Mumbai Indians in some matches in between 2008 and 2011 when Sachin Tendulkar was rested and he was the captain of the Mumbai Indians team that won the Champions League T20 trophy.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Man Of The Match Award

Ricky Ponting – Former Australian Captain Ricky Ponting was the captain of Mumbai Indians for only one season – IPL 2013. However, he did not lead the team for the entire season. Due to his poor performances, he himself dropped him from captaincy and suggested the authorities make Rohit Sharma the captain instead. And the rest is history.

Rohit Sharma – Rohit Sharma made his captaincy debut in IPL 2013 and has been their captain since then. He is the most successful captain in IPL’s History with 5 IPL trophies.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Rahul Dravid – Rahul Dravid was the first-ever captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore. He was the captain of the team in IPL 2008.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Prize Money, Start Date, Auction Date, Team List, Broadcasting Rights, And What You Need To Know

Anil Kumble – Anil Kumble took over the captaincy of RCB from Rahul Dravid in IPL 2009. He led the side for two years – 2009 and 2010. He led the side in 35 matches out of which he won 19 and lost 13.

Daniel Vettori – Daniel Vettori was the captain of RCB in IPL 2011 and IPL 2012. He led them in 28 matches, won 15 matches, and lost 13 of them.

Virat Kohli – Virat Kohli was the most prominent captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore. He was the captain of RCB from 2013 to 2021. He gave up captaincy willingly last year and is now a part of the team as just a batsman. Faf du Plessis is the new captain of RCB.

Also Read: Team India’s Full Cricket Schedule For 2022

Rajasthan Royals

Shane Warne 2008- 11
Rahul Dravid 2014-14
Shane Watson 2015
Ajinkya Rahane 2018,19
Steve Smith 2020
Sanju Samson2021-

Also Read: TATA IPL 2022: 6 Players Who Can Win The Orange Cap In The Tournament

Delhi Capitals

Virender Sehwag2008,9,11,12
Gautam Gambhir2010
Mahela Jayawardene2013
Kevin Pieterson2014
JP Duminy2015,16
Zaheer Khan2017
Shreyas Iyer2018-20
Rishabh Pant2021-

Also Read: IPL Winners Runners Up, Captains, Man Of The Match (Final), Player Of The Series List All Seasons

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kumar Sangakkara &
Cameron White
Shikhar Dhawan2014
Daren Sammy2014
Kane Williamson2018
Bhuvneshwar Kumar2019
David Warner 2015-21
Kane Williamson2021-

Also Read: IPL 2022 Exclusive: Predicted 4 Teams Which Can Qualify For Playoffs

Kolkata Knight Riders

Sourav Ganguly – IPL 2008 to IPL 2010

Gautam Gambhir – IPL 2011 to IPL 2017

Dinesh Karthik – IPL 2018 to IPL 2020

Eoin Morgan – IPL 2020 to IPL 2021

Shreyas Iyer – IPL 2022 to

Also Read:IPL 2022: Mumbai Indians (MI) Most Valuable IPL Team As Per Forbes Report

Punjab Kings

Yuvraj Singh – IPL 2008 to IPL 2009

Kumar Sangakara – IPL 2010

Adam Gilchrist – IPL 2011-13

George Bailey – IPL 2014-15

David Miller – IPL 2016

Glen Maxwell – IPL 2017

Ravichandran Ashwin – IPL 2018 to IPL 2019

KL Rahul – IPL 2020 to 2021

Mayank Agarwal – Present

Also Read: IPL 2022: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Full Schedule, Players List & Winning Prediction

Gujarat Titans (GT) – Hardik Pandya

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) – KL Rahul

Previous articleTATA IPL 2022: 6 Players Who Can Win The Orange Cap In The Tournament
Next articleIPL 2022 Match No 2, MI vs DC: Dream11 Prediction, Full Squad, Scorecard, Match Report & Head-To-Head