Updated: 25 November

IPL 2022 Mega Auction will be held in January, February 2022. All teams will release and retain players for the next year. BCCI had made a rule to retain 5 players in 2021, but this time the BCCI has not yet made an official announcement regarding the retention of players, but it is certain that this time the franchise will not be able to retain 5 players, this number, Could be 3 or 4.

According to cricbuzz BCCI will allow, 8 IPL teams to retain up to 4 players. It will be like a Maximum of 3 Indians. Maximum 2 Foreign players. But the total number of players should be 4.

Also Read: India Vs New Zealand: Head To Head, Records In T20, And Test

Next year two new teams ( Ahmedabad & Lucknow) will join the IPL and the number of matches will also increase. There were a total of 60 matches in VIVO IPL 2021 while the number of matches in 2022 will be 74. Here we are giving the names of the four probable players from all the teams who are likely to be retained by the franchise.

Like the 2018 mega auction, there will be no RTM (right-to-match card) in IPL 2022 mega auction. This year franchise’s purse value will be 90 cr.

IPL 2022 Retention Deadline

All IPL franchises have to submit their retained players list till November 30, 2021.

IPL 2022 Mega Auction: Predicted Team-Wise Players Retention List

Also Read: Australia vs England Cricket Team Head-To-Head Stats, Records In Test, ODI & T20


MS Dhoni, Faf du Plessis, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad

Note – According to The Indian Express CSK has retained Dhoni (for 3 seasons), Jadeja & Gaikwad. CSK management is in talks with England all-rounder Moeen Ali.


Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel & Anrich Nortje . (confirmed)


Also Read: ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2022: Schedule, Venue, Qualification, Ranking, Winners

Andre Russell, (confirmed) Sunil Narine (confirmed), Venkatesh Iyer, Shubman Gill


Rohit Sharma,(confirmed) Ishan Kishan,(likely to be retained) Jasprit Bumrah,(confirmed) Kieron Pollard(talks on)


Deepak Hooda, Adam Markram, Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh.

( A few days back PBKS captain KL Rahul said that he will quit Punjab kings ahead of Mega auction)

Also Read: IPL 2022: 5 Possible Captains Of Two New Teams For The IPL 2022


Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Yuzvendra Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal


Sanju Samson, Mahipal Lomror, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ben Stokes


Jason Roy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, W Saha, Rashid Khan