Image Source: Twitter

Updated: 30 April 2023

IPL: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Records, Winning Percentage At MA Chidambaram (Chepauk) Stadium. Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 is raging on our televisions and digital devices, with thrilling matches and players blasting courageous sixes. Defending champion Gujarat Titans defeated Chennai Super Kings by 5 wickets in the opening match of IPL 2023 at Ahmedabad on March 31.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) returned to its home field after 1426 days and recorded its first win of the season on April 3. CSK beat KL Rahul-led Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by 12 runs.

Chennai Super Kings is one of the most successful teams in IPL history. They have won four titles and appeared in most playoffs. CSK has been captained by Indian cricketing icon MS Dhoni since its beginning. CSK’s performance is directly proportional to MS Dhoni’s success. This 42-year-old is regarded as one of the most successful Indian and IPL captains, having won 58.76% of 212 IPL matches.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Complete Players List With IPL Stats And Full Squad

CSK’s Winning Record at Chepauk Stadium

The record of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the MA Chidambaram, Chepauk stadium has shown to their supremacy in the IPL as they are a team that has always been associated with reliability and success. At the stadium, the team has played 57 games in all, winning 41 of them, losing only 15, and tying one. This indicates that CSK has the greatest home-winning percentage in the IPL at 71.40%.

The success of CSK at the Chepauk is the result of a number of things. One is that the club has always had a quality roster that can adjust to the playing surface and play to their own abilities. For visiting teams, the spin-friendly Chepauk surface has always been a problem, but CSK has been able to take advantage of it by fielding a strong line-up of spin bowlers.

The devoted fan base of CSK has also contributed to their dominance at home. One of the IPL’s most ardent and vocal fan bases is the “Whistle Podu Army,” and the squad has always found inspiration from their support. The importance of playing in front of their home audience has long been recognized by the players. who frequently give them credit for their success.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Orange Cap, Purple Cap And Updated Points Table

MS Dhoni’s Stats in IPL

From the IPL’s first season, MS Dhoni has played for CSK and has captained it for 13 seasons, except for the two seasons in 2016 and 2017. Due to allegations against them. CSK and Rajasthan Royals were banned from the IPL for two years in 2015.

CSK and RR were suspected of spot-fixing in 2013 after Delhi police arrested bookies. After a thorough inquiry, it was discovered that both teams’ owners were engaged. As a result, the Indian Supreme Court decided to suspend both teams for two years.

Therefore, CSK was out, for the next two seasons. MS Dhoni played for a new team named Rising Pune Super Giants. Where he captained the team in 2016 and stood down as captain in 2017 owing to disputes with the management.

As A Player

MS Dhoni has appeared in 239 IPL games so far, scoring 5037 runs at an average of 39.09 runs per game. Moreover, he has scored 24 half-centuries, with his H/S at 84* runs. Throughout his IPL career, MS Dhoni has hit 232 sixes and 347 fours.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Schedule: IPL Teams, Groups, Full Schedule, Venues, Time In IST, Results, Points Table, Man Of The Match List, And All You Need To Know

As A Captain

MS Dhoni glories captaining career records 58% overall victory rate, the highest of any skipper. He has won four titles for the CSK franchise as captain that is 2010, 2011, 2018 & 2021. This Indian legend took CSK to the playoffs  as captain in 11 of the 13 IPL seasons. CSK has reached the IPL finals nine out of 11 times.

IPL 2023 CSK Full Squad

Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, RS Hangargekar, Tushar Deshpande,  Bhagath Varma, Dwaine Pretorius, Subhranshu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, A Rahane, Akash Singh, Nishant Sindhu Mandal, Prashant Solanki , Ajay Jadav, Simarjeet Singh.