India vs Australia 2023
Image Source: The Indian Express

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023: India vs Australia Test Series Preview, Squads, Head-To-Head, And Winning Predictions. Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023 will kick off on 9th February. The series between India and Australia will feature 4 test matches and it will go on for over a month. This will be the 16th edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

The World Test Championship 2021-23 has reached its climax and this series (India vs Australia) will play a key role in deciding the finalists of the tournament. WTC final will be played in June 2023. It is almost certain that Australia will be one of the finalists and it remains to be seen who they will play against. 

The last time Australia and India met in a test series was in January 2021, which ended up witnessing a historic encounter between the arch-rivals. This time, with the added tension building up to the WTC final, we expect an even more intense rivalry between the two sides. 

Also Read: India vs Australia 2023: Top 5 Players To Watch Out For In The Border-Gavaskar Trophy

India vs Australia: Schedule, Date, Time and Venues

Match No.DatesTime (in IST)Venue
19-13 February09:30 AMNagpur
217-21 February09:30 AMArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
31-5 March09:30 AMHPCA Stadium, Dharamshala
49-13 March09:30 AMNarendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

India vs Australia Test Series 2023 Squads

Team India (for two tests): Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), R. Ashwin, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel, Suryakumar Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Virat Kohli.

Team Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith (vc), Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Scott Boland, Peter Handscomb (wk), Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Mitchell Swepson, Usman Khawaja, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne.

India vs Australia: Head to Head

  • Total Matches: 102
  • Won by India: 30
  • Won by Australia: 43
  • Drawn: 28

Also Read: IPL 2023: Start Date, Teams Captain, Broadcasting Rights, Live Streaming, And All You Need To Know

Border-Gavaskar Trophy And WTC 2023 Final Equation

Australia has almost qualified for the WTC 2023 Final. They currently have a PCT (Points won by a team / Points contested * 100) of 75.56 and unless they lose the upcoming test series against India by a margin of 4-0 (which is highly unlikely), they are good to go, and have nothing to worry about. 

India, on the other hand, is second on the points table with a PCT of 58.93. Sri Lanka’s current PTC is 53.33, India needs to win at least two matches in the series to qualify for the WTC final. 

Sri Lanka, who have a current PTC of 48.72 only have two more test matches to be played and thus they will not cause a problem if India manages to win two matches against Australia. India’s fate is thus in its own hands now. 

India vs Australia Test Series 2023: Winning Prediction 

Both Australia and India have been in impeccable form in Test cricket lately. However, it is important to note that India will be without Rishabh Pant when they meet Australia. It is a major loss as Pant has been one of the best test players for India in the last few years. Jasprit Bumrah is not in the squad and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is out of the cricket field from July 2022 .

Also Read: Australia Tour Of India 2023: Where And How To Watch India vs Australia Test Series 2023 Live For Free

On the other hand, Australian players like, David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, and Marnus Labuschagne are in the red hot form now. Thus, the Aussies are has the upper hand in this series. 

But we should not forget two things, first, the series is happening on Indian soil, and second men in blue are undefeated in BGT for the last three seasons. India’s spin attacks are lethal, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, and Axar Patel can give momentum to the team. We predict that India will win the series by a 2-1 margin, and cricket fans will both teams in WTC 2023 final.