ICC T20 World cup
Image Source- business-standard.com

Updated: 24 September 2022

ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Is India’s Weak Pace Bowling Attack A Serious Cause Of Concern? The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is just around the corner. In less than a month, India will start their world cup campaign with a match against Pakistan at the MCG. The squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 was announced a few days back.

There were not a lot of surprises, as almost everyone who deserved and expected to be in the squad saw their name. Indian pace attack has struggled to deliver in crucial moments, over the last couple of months.

The return of Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel is expected to strengthen the fragile pace bowling attack. But, the question lies that does the Indian pace bowling attack has the firepower and form, to make India win important matches in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Let’s try to find an answer.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: Teams, Squads, And Full Players List

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, The Bowler Under Radar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is one of the most consistent bowlers in the limited over cricket for India. He is known for impressive swing deliveries. Bhuvi has dismantled a lot of wickets from his impeccable line and length. But, in the last 2 series, he has been completely off target.

The recently concluded Asia Cup 2022 saw Bhuvneshwar Kumar leaking plenty of runs, especially in the death overs against Pakistan and Sri Lanka. He gave away 14 and 19 runs, which was the reason for India’s loss.

In the first t20 match against Australia, which was played yesterday, Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave away 16 runs. He conceded a whopping 52 runs in his 4 overs and looked off-track.

In the absence of Bumrah, Bhuvi is given the responsibility to handle the death overs, and his line and length in the slog overs have become a cause of concern. To add to this, his slow pace is also not doing anything good.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: T20I Stats, Records Of All 16 Teams Captain

Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel Not Fully Fit

Jasprit Bumrah, the premier fast bowler India has always banked upon, is returning after a long injury. He did not participate in the first t20 against Australia yesterday, as he was not fully fit.

Although Bumrah is included in the squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022, it will still be a thing to decide whether he remains fully fit and also comes back to form in the nick of time.

Similarly, Harshal Patel is also returning from an injury. He did not have a good outing in the first match of ongoing India vs Australia 3 match t20 series. He gave away 49 runs in his 4 overs and never looked impressive.

Harshal Patel is a crucial member of the pace attack, and his form will be one of the deciding factors if India has to perform better in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: Team List, All Teams Captain, Vice-Captain, And Coach

Backup Bowlers Not Up To The Mark

If Bhuvneshwar Kumar is leaking runs in the death overs, then Arshdeep Singh is doing the same in the powerplay. The team management suddenly included Mohammad Shami in the T20 World Cup 2022 squad, who hasn’t played for more than 2.5 years for India.

Overall, the pace bowling attack, which over the last 2-3 years has gained immense credibility and praise, has suddenly become the biggest cause of concern for India.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is around a month away. The fast bowlers have just 5 more matches before the T20 World cup to get into the rhythm and start delivering for the team.

It remains to be seen how they cope with the external pressure and convert the poor performance into a match-winning one.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Who Will Win The T20 World Cup 2022

Team India Full Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2022

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul(vice-captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel.

Standby players: Mohammad Shami, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer & Ravi Bishnoi