Updated: 08 November 2022

The 8th edition of the ICC Men’s T20 world cup 2022 is scheduled to be played in Australia from Oct 16-Nov 13. A total of 16 teams will fight it out for the title. The top 8 teams from the previous edition have already qualified. The other four teams- Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, and West Indies have made it through the previous tournament.

Four more teams, Ireland, UAE, Zimbabwe, and the Netherlands have recently qualified for the tournament from the ICC T20 World cup group qualifier round.

Also Read:ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Most Runs And Most Wicket-Takers Standings In The Tournament

According to the fixtures of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, the top 8 teams plus 4 qualifiers have been divided into 2 groups. These are:

Group A: England, New Zealand, Australia, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka & Netherlands

Group B: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Ireland & Zimbabwe

Group 1- Netherlands, Namibia, Sri Lanka & UAE

Group 2- Ireland, West Indies, Zimbabwe & Scotland

India & Pakistan from group B while England & New Zealand from group A reached into T20 world cup 2022 semifinals.

Let us have a look at the probable teams who could qualify for the top 4 and eventually win the ICC T20 world cup 2022.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: Super 12 Schedule, Results, and Points Table


Team India had a season to forget the last edition. After suffering a thumping defeat against arch-rivals Pakistan in their first match, followed by another loss from New Zealand, the men in blue could not proceed to the knockout stage. However, India will surely be one of the favorites to win the title. With a new captain Rohit Sharma, the team looks settled.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Groups, Teams, Squads, Full Schedule, Venues, And Time Table In IST

Virat Kohli can play fearless cricket, given the fact that he has relinquished the captaincy. India has all the firepower to dismantle any opposition. If they can hold their nerves and play their perfect game in the park, they will be one of the teams to watch out for in the ICC Men’s T20 world cup 2022.

In fact, many bookmakers have come out with very favorable odds for India to win the T20 World Cup this year. As one of the top contenders for the trophy on most online cricket betting sites, India has the outright odds of 4.30 at winning the World Cup, only behind Australia with odds of 4.0.


Pakistan had a memorable outing in the recently concluded ICC Men’s T20 world cup 2021. The side led by Babar Azam showed the world what they are capable of. In fact, Pakistan was the only team that never lost any game in the league stage, winning 5 matches on the trot. But, they lost at the hands of Australia in the semi-final match, perishing all the hopes of their fans.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: India Schedule, Broadcast Channel List, Live Streaming India, And Worldwide

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Prize Money Details And Tickets

Their batting order has shown immense discipline with Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, etc. They have one of the best pace attacks with Shaheen Shah Afridi, Md Wasim, etc, firing from all cylinders. The teams would ill afford to take Pakistan lightly this edition.


The defending champions of ICC T20 World cup 2021, Australia, will start as the favorites to win the ICC Men’s T20 world cup 2022. The side under the leadership of Aaron Finch proved why they are the best.

They have one of the best batting lineups with Cameroon Green, Finch, Maxwell, Wade, Stoinis, etc. Australia’s bowling attack, especially the pace bowlers, can dismantle the bowling attack of any opponent.

The biggest advantage for them will be that the tournament will be played in their backyard, where Australia has always dominated.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: Super 12 Schedule, Results, and Points Table


The fourth team with a high chance of winning the ICC Men’s T20 world cup 2022 is England. Eoin Morgan-led team dominated for most of the last edition, but they failed to defeat New Zealand in the semi-final. If we talk of the most dangerous team on paper, it’s mighty England.

They bat very deep and have bowlers who can hit the deck very hard and generate extra bounce from the Australian wickets. If England plays to their potential, they have the firepower to win the ICC Men’s T20 world cup 2022.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Auction: 4 Players Who Can Get The Highest Bid

Who Will Win The T20 World Cup 2022

Among these 4 teams, only two will proceed to the finals of the ICC Men’s T20 world cup 2022. Given the x-factor, Australia has, playing in their own backyard, and the supportive fans, they will be one of the favorites to reach the mega final on 13th Nov.

Talking about the second team, we will bank our money on team India, as under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, they will be eager to prove their critics wrong and play fearless cricket and reach the finals.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Full Schedule PDF Download

It’s very difficult to predict the winner but we believe that India might win the ICC Men’s T20 world cup 2022. However, seeing the upsets that generally happen in cricket’s shortest format, you should not be surprised to see some other team lifting the trophy.