WTC Final 2023
Rohit Sharma & KL Rahul, Image Source-The Indian Express

WTC Final 2023: Ishan Kishan Replaces Injured KL Rahul: India will meet Australia in the World Test Championship final in June 2023. The Test match will be held at Kennington Oval Stadium in London, UK, from June 7 to June 11. Australia and India qualified for the World Test Championship final after finishing first and second in the World Test Championship points table, respectively.

Australia played 19 Test matches during the WTC. Australia took the top place in the points standings after winning 11 games, losing three, and drawing five. India finished second after winning 10 games and losing 5 out of 18 (3 draws), with a win percentage of 58.80.

Both sides have revealed their squads for the WTC Finals 2023, and they all seem rather impressive. After Ajinkya Rahane reached the WTC final during his fantastic IPL season, Ishan Kishan took over for KL Rahul following his Hamstring injury.

Ishan Kishan Replaces KL Rahul in WTC Final 2023

The BCCI announced on Monday that Ishan Kishan will replace the injured KL Rahul in India’s World Test Championship final against Australia. According to the medical team, Rahul, India’s top-order wicketkeeper-batter, has withdrawn from the current Indian Premier League 2023 (IPL 2023) and the next World Test Championship Final 2023 (WTC) against Australia.

Also Read: World Test Championship (WTC) Final 2023 Venue: Test, ODI And T20I Records And Stats At The Oval

The skipper of the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) will have thigh surgery shortly and aspires to be named to Team India for the ICC ODI World Cup 2023. Rahul will miss the remainder of the IPL season as well as the World Test Championship final after tearing a tendon in his right leg while playing for the Lucknow Super Giants.

Kishan, who has yet to play for India in a Test match. Despite being named to the Border-Gavaskar Trophy team earlier this year, he did not appear in any BGT games. Kishan has 48 First-Class games under his belt, averaging 38.76 runs per game. The left-hander has 99 catches and 11 stumpings in his FC career.

Ishan Kishan has 293 runs in 10 matches in the IPL season, averaging 29.30 and hitting two fifties. Kishan will be the second wicket-keeper behind KS Bharat in Rahul’s absence due to a thigh ailment. Jaydev Unadkat and Umesh Yadav have also been called up after being injured during the current IPL 2023 season. The BCCI stated that they will decide on their involvement later.

Meanwhile, fans were not pleased with the Indian Cricket Board’s decision to select Kishan in the squad. Many people believed that the in-form Wriddhiman Saha should have been recalled to the Indian team. Others, on the other hand, believed Sarfaraz Khan earned a spot on the team.

Squads for WTC Final 2023

India: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jaydev Unadkat, Shubhman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, R Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj, Mohd. Shami, Shardul Thakur, Ishan Kishan, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav

Australia: Pat Cummins, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Josh Inglis, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Cameron Green, Marnus Labuschagne