WTC Final 2023
Image Source: ICC

Updated: 29 May 2023

World Test Championship (WTC) Final 2023 Venue: Test, ODI, And T20I Records And Stats At The Oval: We are about to find out who will wield the prestigious ICC Test Mace this year. The much-awaited World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and Australia is set on June 7, 2023, at the Kensington Oval in the United Kingdom.

India qualified for the World Test Championship (WTC) final on March 13 despite being tied in the fourth Test match against Australia. The Men in Blue’s entry into the World Test Championship final for the second consecutive year was guaranteed by New Zealand’s victory over Sri Lanka. Australia was the first team to claim a position in the WTC final by defeating India in the third test in Indore. With a PCT of 66.67, Australia took the lead in the ICC World Test Championship 2023 points table.

Australia played 19 Tests during the WTC cycle, winning 11, losing 3, and drawing 5. With a PCT of 58.80, India finished second in the points standings. India played 18 games, winning 10, losing 5, and drawing three. The Oval Stadium in Kensington, United Kingdom, is set to host the WTC Final 2023. Let’s look through some of The Oval’s records and statistics.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Schedule, Venue, Auction, Teams, Captains And Broadcast Details

Test Records & Stats Of The Oval Kensington

Test Matches

Total matches:                                105

Matches won by batting first:       38

Matches won bowling first:          29

Average 1st Inns scores:                 343

Average 2nd Inns scores:               304

Average 3rd Inns scores: 238

Average 4th Inns scores: 156

Highest team total:                         903/7 (335.2 Ov) by ENG vs AUS on August 1938

Lowest team total :                        44/10 (26 Ov) by AUS vs ENG on August 1896

Highest Individual score: 364 by Sir Leonard Hutton Vs Aus in 1938

Best Bowling figures:                      Jim Laker 19 wickets 37/9 1st inning & 53/10 2nd inning vs Aus in 1956     

Also Read: IPL 2023: Orange Cap, Purple Cap And Updated Points Table

ODI Stats & Records

Total matches:                                 75

Matches won by batting first:        30

Matches won bowling first:          42 (3 Matches with No result)

Average 1st Inns scores:                246

Highest team total:                         398/5 by New Zealand vs England on 12/06/2015

Lowest team total:                         103 by England Vs South Africa on 22/05/1999

Highest total chased:                      322/3 Sri Lanka Vs India on 08/06/2017

Highest Individual score: 176* E. Lewis Vs England on 27/09/2017

Best Bowling figures:                     6/19 by Jasprit Bumrah Vs England on 12/07/2022

Also Read: WTC 2023-25: ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 Teams, Fixtures

T20I Stats & Records

Total matches:                                17

Matches won by batting first:       09

Matches won bowling first:          07

Average 1st Inns scores:                151

Highest team total:                         211/5 by South Africa Vs Scotland 7/6/2009

Lowest team total:                         81/10 by Scotland Vs South Africa 7/8/2009

Highest total chased:                     173/5 by England Vs West Indies on 29/06/2009

Highest Individual score: 96 by TM Dilshan Vs West Indies 19/06/2009

Best Bowling figures:                     5/6 by Umar Gul Vs New Zealand 13/06/2009

Squads for WTC Final 2023

Cricket Australia has announced the Final Squad for WTC Final on 19 April.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Josh Inglis, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood,  Usman Khawaja, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Scott Boland

Today BCCI announced the final squad for WTC Final. following are squad.

India Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav