KL Rahul IPL
LSG Captain KL Rahul, Photo - IPL

Updated: 17 February 2023

IPL 2023: 5 Players Who Can Win The Orange Cap In The Tournament. Every year, the Indian Premier League gives a lot of awards for outstanding performance throughout the season. There are more than 15 individual awards associated with IPL. But the most significant award is the orange cap. It is given to the batsman who scores the most runs throughout the IPL season. Since there are at least 14 matches that every team plays, so it provides batters enough opportunities to score runs consistently.

The winner of the orange cap takes away a trophy and a check of Rs 15 lakhs (this amount is expected to increase) from IPL 2023. It is not an understatement to say that T20 cricket is a batsman’s game, and the batsmen have grabbed it from both hands. Let us look at the top 5 players who can win the orange cap in IPL 2023:

Also Read: IPL (Indian Premier League) vs PSL (Pakistan Super League) 2023: Player Salaries Comparison

IPL 2023: 5 Players Who Can Win The Orange Cap In The Tournament

JOS BUTTLER (Rajasthan Royals)

Jos Buttler was the standout performer for Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2022. The swash-buckling top-order player piled the highest 863 runs in the season, running away with the orange cap. This included 4 centuries. His batting display was a treat to watch.

Jos Buttler has always been an exciting cricketer. In 82 matches, he has scored 2831 runs at an average of 40 and a strike rate of close to 150, including 5 centuries. He will be leading the race to win the orange cap in IPL 2023

KL RAHUL (Lucknow Super Giants)

Over the last 4 seasons, KL Rahul has scored close to 600 runs every year, giving him the tag of the most consistent batsman. He won the orange cap once in 2020 and was the second-highest run-scorer in 2021. KL Rahul is going through an orange cap.

In 100 IPL innings, the top-order batsman has accumulated 3889 runs, at an average of 48 and strike rate of 136. This includes 4 centuries and 31 half-centuries. Lucknow Super Giants captain KL Rahul will surely be one of the top contenders to win the orange cap in IPL 2023.

Also Read: IPL 2023: 5 Things That Make Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Favourite To Win The Title

DAVID WARNER (Delhi Capitals)

David Warner has won the highest number of orange cap awards in IPL. The pocket rocket batsman lifted this award in 2015, 2017, and 2019. Incidentally, all three orange cap awards David Warner received were when he represented Sunrisers Hyderabad.

In IPL 2022, Delhi Capitals showed trust in David Warner, and he scored the highest 432 runs for his franchise. David Warner will be one of the top contenders to lift the orange cap for the fourth time next season.


Shikhar Dhawan is also among the most consistent batters in the IPL. In the last 7 seasons, the left-handed opener has scored more than 450 runs in each edition. In 206 matches, Dhawan has scored 6244 runs, at an average of 35 and a strike rate close to 126.

Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan

His consistency has been the hallmark of this batting, giving the team good starts. Shikhar Dhawan can also be a probable batsman to win the orange cap in IPL 2023, provided he can stay at the crease for a longer duration, along with scoring runs quickly.

Also Read: Top 5 Players Who Did Not Get A Chance In IPL 2022 But Can Create An Impact In IPL 2023

RUTURAJ GAIKWAD (Chennai Super Kings)

Ruturaj Gaikwad, in his short IPL carrier, has impressed everyone with his determination and stroke play. He made his debut for CSK in 2020 and won the orange cap in 2021, scoring 635 runs in 16 innings. The best thing about his batting is that he does not get carried away by the expectations of the fans.

Being a natural stroke player, he scores runs effortlessly. Ruturaj Gaikwad can also be a good contender for the orange cap in IPL 2023.