Updated: 23 February 2022

Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to enter into the 15th edition. This cash-rich cricket league regraded the most lucrative tournaments across the globe has garnered massive attention since its inception. We have seen player’s life’s getting changed within a span of just a couple of outstanding performances. Such is the audacity of the IPL that the craze seems to increase with each passing season.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Players List, Full Squad Of All 10 Teams & Purse Remaining

It was a quiet IPL in the last two seasons, with the fans missing the players to watch from the stadium due to the COVID situation. However, things seem to settle this IPL season for the time being. Let us look at a few key aspects related to the Indian Premier league 15th edition.

IPL 2022 Start Date & Schedule

According to some sources, the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League will kickstart from 26th/27th March 2022. It will go till June 29th. The first match is expected to take place at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. IPL 2022 league matches will be played in Maharashtra while Gujrat will host the playoffs & finals of IPL 2022. It will be the longest edition of the IPL with the addition of 2 new teams.

Also Read: https://www.sportsganga.com/web-stories/top-5-most-expensive-buy-in-ipl-2022-mega-auction/

The distribution of matches in TATA IPL 2022: (Source – Cricbuzz)

4 matches in Wankhede Stadium
4 matches in DY Patil
3 matches in Brabourne
3 matches in Pune

For each team in the league stage of IPL 2022

55 matches at Wankhede, Brabourne, and DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. 15 matches at MCA Stadium in Pune.

14 league matches for all the teams. Teams will face their respective group teams twice and one team from the other group twice. They then play the remaining 4 teams from the opposition group once.

The final of IPL 2022 is set to happen on May 29th.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: Most Expensive Indian & Overseas Players List Of DC,GT,MI,RR,CSK,LSG,KKR,RCB,SRH & PBKS

IPL 2022 Format & Team List

We all know that two new teams, Lucknow Supergiants, and Gujrat Titans, have joined this season. This means there will be a total of 74 matches to be played this season. A total of 10 teams will participate this season, and they will be divided into two groups, with each team playing against other teams twice before the knockout stages. Given below are the list of teams participating in the IPL 2022:

  • Chennai Super kings
  • Royal challengers Bangalore
  • Delhi capitals
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Kolkata knight riders
  • Punjab Kings
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Gujrat Titans
  • Lucknow Supergiants

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: Mumbai Indians (MI) Full Players List, Squad

TATA IPL 2022 Venue

Indian Premier League (IPL) will most likely be held in India this season. The third COVID wave seems to have declined at the moment. If we don’t see any further rise in the cases, then the season will kickstart in India. Talkin of the venue, even if the COVID cases decline, most likely we will see BCCI organizing the 15th edition behind closed doors. The probable venues are Mumbai, Ahmedabad & Pune.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Full Players List With Base Price & IPL 2022 Squad

IPL 2022 Broadcasting Rights

IPL broadcasting rights are all set to be renewed before the start of the 15th edition. It will be for the next 5 years. The current right holder Star India will have a tough time retaining the broadcasting rights, with other contenders like Sony pictures network, Viacom 18, Amazon prime expected to go all guns blazing.

TATA IPL 2022 Mega Auction

The most anticipated IPL 2022 mega auction has just ended in Bangalore. A total of 600 players, including 370 players from India, are shortlisted for the mega auction. Out of this, 229 were capped and 364 uncapped players, while the number of players from associate nations is 7. Avesh Khan becomes the most expensive buy uncapped player in IPL 2022 mega auction

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: Lucknow Super Giants(LSG) Full Squad, Players List With Base Price

Top 5 Expensive Players IPL 2022 mega auction

Ishan Kishan- Mumbai Indians- 15.25 crore (most expensive Indian player in IPL 2022 auction)

Deepak Chahar- Chennai Super Kings- 14 crore

Shreyas IyerKKR – 12.25 cr

Liam Livingstone – PBKS – 11.50 cr

Shardul Thakur- Delhi capitals- 10.75 crore

Wanindu Hasaranga(RCB) & Nicholas Pooran (SRH) – 10.75 cr

Also Read: KKR 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders Full Players List, IPL 2022 Squad

The Top 5 Players Who Went Unsold in IPL 2022 auction

Suresh Raina, Steve Smith, Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan & Shakib-Al-Hasan