Team India's Records At The T20 World Cup
Team India, Image Source: Twitter

India’s Records At ICC T20 World Cup: Matches, Most Runs, Wickets And Other Stats. Winning the first-ever T20 World Cup in South Africa was a historic achievement for the Indian cricket team in 2007. India, led by MS Dhoni, won their maiden title of this tournament by defeating Pakistan in the final match with five runs at Johannesburg. 

This victory not only exhibited the talent and resiliency of the Indian cricket team at the international level but also was a remarkable event for Indian cricket. It became possible due to outstanding performances by players like Gautam Gambhir who scored the highest 75 runs during the finals and Irfan Pathan taking 3 important wickets. This victory laid the foundation for India’s success in the shortest format of cricket, a moment that history will always remember.

In 2009, 2010, and 2012, India had dismal campaigns in the following three editions of the T20 World Cup where they were knocked out at the Super 8s, Super 10s, or Super 12s stages. However, they made a great comeback when they played in the 2014 T20 World Cup in Bangladesh under the captaincy of M.S Dhoni as they made it to the final but unfortunately lost to Sri Lanka who were the champions then.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Groups, Points Table And Standings

In 2016, India hosted the T20 World Cup for the first time and reached the semi-finals but lost to eventual winners West Indies. In 2021, five years later, the seventh edition was held in the UAE and Oman with Virat Kohli leading India where they had a rather disappointing outing as they were eliminated at the Super 12 stage. Let us take a look at India’s T20 World Cup track record.

Also Read: BCCI Likely to Stick with 3+1 Retention Rule for IPL Before Mega Auction: Reports

India’s Record At ICC T20 World Cups

Total Matches: 44 matches

Won: 27 matches

Lost: 15 matches

Tie: 1 match

No Result: 1 match

Win Percentage: 63.95%

India’s Highest Total at ICC T20 World Cup

India achieved their highest total in the T20 World Cup when they made 218/4 against England at Durban in 2007. After choosing to bat first, India took advantage of Yuvraj Singh’s 16-ball 58 runs, which included six sixes off Stuart Broad in one over. Gautam Gambhir provided solid support with a score of 58, while Virender Sehwag contributed 68 runs to the quick innings.

Their efforts helped India to post a challenging target. In response, pacer Irfan Pathan’s three-wicket haul played a crucial role in restricting England to 200/6, securing an 18-run victory for India. The game is remembered not just for India’s highest total but also for Yuvraj’s record-breaking feat of hitting 6 sixes in an over during a T20 World Cup match.

India’s Lowest Total At ICC T20 World Cup

India had the lowest T20 World Cup total of 79 all out v New Zealand at Nagpur in 2016 when they were chasing 127. In reply, MS Dhoni’s side bowled out for 79 in just 18.1 overs. The Indian wicketkeeper scored 30 runs off 30 balls faced during his team’s unsuccessful run chase. His counterpart Mitchell Santner who bowls left-arm spin took 4/11 from 4 overs and was the pick of the Kiwi bowlers. 

Winning the toss, New Zealand batted first and posted 126/7 from their 20 overs after being asked to bat by Indian skipper MS Dhoni. After Suresh Raina and Jasprit Bumrah picked up 1 wicket each while the latter claimed 3 for himself as well but it was not enough as India went down by 47 runs in a forgettable performance that will go down in history as one where no batsman managed double figures let alone a decent score of note.

Most Individual Runs for India In ICC T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli is the highest run-scorer for India in T20 World Cup history, a record he set himself as the former captain. The right-handed batsman made a total of 1,141 runs in 27 matches from 2012 to 2022 with an average of 81.50 and a strike rate of 131.30. Moreover, Kohli has been the leading run-getter in all T20 World Cups so far. 

His ability to handle pressure situations consistently across these events has been vital for the Indian cricket team’s success at this level. Rohit Sharma comes next after him having scored the second-most number of runs for India into the T20 WC to date while playing as an opener throughout his career

Also Read: IND vs BAN T20 World Cup 2024 Warm-up Match: Head-To-Head, Rules, Weather Forecast, Squads and Live Streaming Details

Most Wickets For India In ICC T20 World Cup

Ravichandran Ashwin has taken the most wickets by an Indian in T20 World Cups. The right-arm bowler has picked 32 wickets in 24 matches, at an average of 17.25 and an economy rate of 6.49. His ability to take wickets regularly has been crucial for India in key matches. Next is Ravindra Jadeja who is a left-arm spinner at number two with 21 wickets from 22 games. Jadeja’s economical bowling and breakthroughs have also been important for India during the T20 World Cup. India aims to end their ten-year ICC trophy drought next year at the T20 World Cup 2024 with Rohit Sharma at the helm in the West Indies and the United States.

Team India Schedule For T20 World Cup 2024

15-June-24 Saturday: India vs Canada at Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill

09-June-24 Sunday: India vs Pakistan at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

12-June-24 Wednesday: USA vs India at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

05-June-24 Wednesday: India vs Ireland at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

Also Read: Sandeep Lamichhane Denied US Visa Again, Sparking Massive Protests in Nepal

India’s Squad For T20 World Cup 2024

Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rishabh Pant, Shubman Gill, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, and Virat Kohli. The reserves include Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan, Rinku Singh and Shubman Gill.