T20 World Cup 2024
Team India, Image Source: Twitter

India T20 WC 2024 Squad: Some Regular Players May Face Disappointment: Reports. The T20 World Cup 2024 is approaching, and the BCCI selection committee is brainstorming to finalize the squad. The board must announce the provisional 15-member squad by the May 1 cut-off date. Chief selector Ajit Agarkar and his colleagues have some straightforward choices to make if every member of the team is fit.

According to PTI, some regular players like Shubman Gill, and Yashasvi Jaiswal may face disappointment. Selectors are not in the mood to give chances to the young faces who are performing well in the ongoing Indian Premier League.

T20 World Cup 2024 is scheduled to take place in USA and Caribbean Islands from June 1 to June 29 but according to sources a couple of tried-and-tested faces might have to prepare for disappointment when the squad is finalized by the end of this month.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Teams, Groups, Captains And Head Coach List

It is expected that either Y Jaiswal or Shubman Gill could be excluded from the final 15, but if both players are selected then KKR finisher Rinku Singh or CSK all-rounder Shivam Dube can make it to the squad. RR batter Riyan Parag, and PBKS batter Jitesh Sharma are also in the race, but it is understood that BCCI may ease them via bilateral series rather than the World Cup where stakes are very high.

Yesterday skipper Rohit Sharma met with head coach Rahul Dravid and chief selector Ajit Agarkar. As per a report in Dainik Jagaran, IPL 2024 orange cap holder, Virat Kohli has sought clarity on where the team management stands about his chances to be selected in the T20 World Cup 2024 squad. It will be very difficult for the selectors to sideline the veteran basis on his current form.

Team India’s probable 20-man squad with 5 stand-bys for the T20 World Cup 2024

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Y Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Surya, Rinku Singh, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Jasprit Bumrah, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Y Chahal, R Bishnoi, Md Siraj, Avesh Khan, and Arshdeep Singh