Asia Cup Cup 2023
Image Source- Twitter

Updated: 21 August 2023

Fans Will See KL Rahul And Shreyas In Action As BCCI Announces Squad For Asia Cup 2023. Rohit Sharma will lead the team India in the Asia Cup 2023 as BCCI announces a 16-man squad for the tournament after long speculation, debate, and rumors. Indian cricket fans were eagerly waiting for India’s final squad for the 16th edition of the Asia Cup 2023 which is scheduled to take place from Aug 30 to Sep 17 at Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Rohit Sharma attended a virtual meeting at ITC Chanakyapuri Hotel in Delhi with BCCI secretary Jay Shah, chief selector Ajit Agarkar, and head Coach Rahul Dravid. Jasprit Bumrah who had a dream return after an 11-month injury on Ireland tour will lead the pace bowling attack with Md Shami, Shardul Thakur, and Md Siraj.

Team management’s concern was for the no 4 batting position which is now being filled by LSG captain KL Rahul who suffered a thigh injury during TATA IPL 2023 and was out of action since May. Rahul cemented his no 4 position after the ODI World Cup 2019 but his back-to-back injuries kept him out of the game. Fans will also see Shreyas Iyer in action.

Rajasthan Royals captain Sajnu Samson will be back up for Asia Cup 2023 but spinner Y Chahal failed to make it in the squad.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023 Squad: Team List, Players And Head Coach For The Tournament

India’s 17-member squad for Asia Cup 2023

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Md Shami, Axar Patel, Md Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, Sanju Samson.

The first match of the Asia Cup 2023 will be played between first-time qualifier Nepal vs host Pakistan at Multan on August 30. India will play its first match against arch-rival Pakistan on Sep 2 at Kandy. Pakistan is the first team to announce a 17-member squad led by Babar Azam for the tournament.