ODI World Cup 2023
Image Source BCCI

Updated: 24 September 2023

IND vs. AUS ODI Series: How Can India Became No. 1 Team (ICC ODI Rankings) Before World Cup 2023?. The Indian cricket team has made it to the number two spot in the ICC Team ODI rankings after a spectacular victory in the continental tournament, the Asia Cup 2023 on September 17.

Men in Blue has the next most significant challenge of participating in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 which the nation will be hosting after 12 years. ODI World Cup 2023 is going to kick start on Oct 5 with the opening match between 2019 World Cup finalists England vs. New Zealand at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad.

Rohit Sharma & company won the 16th Asia Cup by crushing host Sri Lanka in the final at Colombo. It was the record 8th title won by team India and 2nd under Rohit’s captaincy. India last won the title in 2018 by beating Bangladesh in the final in Dubai.

Now they will face Australia in the 3-match ODI series at home. It will be like a dress rehearsal for both teams before the marquee tournament. Both India and Australia will try to be the numero uno ODI team.

How Can India Became No. 1 Team (ICC ODI Rankings) Before World Cup 2023?

After sitting on the throne of Asian champions, India will now eye the world title after 12 years once again in their home. To have a dominating start in the ODI World Cup, India would like to move to the number one spot in the ICC ODI team rankings. To achieve this feat, the Indian cricket team will have to sweep Australia in the latter’s upcoming tour by 2-1. 

Also Read: ODI World Cup 2023: Warm-up Games Schedule, Venues, India Matches And Squad

Notably, India and Australia will lock horns for a three-match mini ODI series in Mohali, Indore, and Rajkot ahead of the ICC ODI World Cup from 22 to 27 September. As of now, Rohit Sharma-led India possesses 115 ratings in their name, while Australia stands behind with 113 ratings.

Previously, Pakistan had slipped down from the number one spot to number two after their defeat against Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup 2023, while making way for Australia to stand in the prestigious number one spot.

Image Source BCCI

However, Australia’s embarrassing series defeat against South Africa 3-2 led them to slip down to the number three spot. Also, India was defeated by Bangladesh in Asia Cup Super Fours stage League match, had India won the game they would have already become the number one team in the ICC Team ODI Rankings. 

India and Australia will play their first ICC ODI World Cup 2023 match against each other on 8 October, at the M Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. 

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023: Full List Of Players Who Will Be Playing Their First ODI World Cup

ICC ODI Team Rankings 

PositionTeam NamePointsRating
2Pakistan 3102115
4South Africa2551106
6New Zealand3254102
8Sri Lanka351292
10West Indies258268
Source- icc-cricket.com

Also Read: ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Injury Reports And Squads Of All Teams

Here is the schedule for Australia tour of India – 

ODI 1, 22 September 1:30 IST – Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 

ODI 2, 24 September 1:30 IST – Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

ODI 3, 27 September 1:30 IST – Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot 

India’s Squad for the 1st Two ODIs against Australia:

KL Rahul (captain), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shardul Thakur Prasidh Krishna, R Ashwin, Mohd. Shami, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah.

India’s Squad for the 3rd ODI against Australia:

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wk), Axar Patel (if fit), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, R Ashwin, Mohd. Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

Australia’s squad for the tour against India: 

Pat Cummins (c), Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa