BBL: Big Bash League History, Teams, All- Season Winners, Records, Prize Money, And All You Need To Know

The Big Bash League (BBL) is an Australian T20 cricket league that was started in the year 2011 by Cricket Australia. The competition has been sponsored by KFC since its inaugural season. Therefore, it is widely known as the KFC Big Bash League. The league has eight city-based franchises similar to the IPL( Indian Premier League). BBL ranks somewhere in the list of top 10 domestic sports leagues in the world in terms of average attendance.

Also Read: Ahmedabad IPL Team 2022: Players List, Captain, Head Coach, Owner, Logo, Jersey, Home Ground & Sponsor

BBL History

The tournament which was originally started in 2011 was supposed to undergo an expansion in 2012. The proposed teams were Newcastle, Canberra, Geelong, and Gold Coast. A New Zealand-based team, probably Auckland or Christchurch was also proposed. But the expansion of the league was suspended mainly because the proposed cities lacked proper hosting facilities.

The tournament is wholly played in Australia during summer in December, January, and February. Till 2014, the top two teams used to qualify for the Champions League T20.

Also Read Lucknow IPL Team 2022: Captain, Players List, Head Coach, Owner, Logo, Jersey, And All You Need To Know

The tournament was played between the top teams of various domestic T20 cricket leagues from all across the world similar to the footballing tournament – UEFA Champions League which is played in Europe. However, the Champions League T20 tournament became defunct in 2014. 

BBL Teams

The tournament consists of eight city-based franchises. Each state’s capital has one team except for Sydney and Melbourne who have two each.

Adelaide Strikers
Brisbane Heat
Hobart Hurricanes
Melbourne Stars
Melbourne Renegades

Also Read: TATA IPL 2022 Auction: Ahmedabad & Lucknow IPL Teams Retained Players List
Perth Scorchers
Sydney Sixers
Sydney Thunder

BBL Prize Money

From the 2015/16 season, Cricket Australia increased the prize money of the tournament to $890,000 which will be split amongst five teams. 

  • Champions – $450,000
  • Runners up- $260,000
  • 3rd and 4th placed team – $80,000 each
  • 5th placed team – $20,000

Also Read: IPL Winners Runners Up, Captains, Man Of The Match (Final), Player Of The Series List All Seasons

BBL Winners List From 2011-22

2011/12Sydney SixersPerth ScorchersWACA Ground
2012/13Brisbane HeatPerth ScorchersWACA Ground
2013/14Perth ScorchersHobart HurricanesWACA Ground
2014/15Perth ScorchersSydney SixersManuka Oval
2015/16Sydney ThundersMelbourne StarsMCG
2016/17Perth ScorchersSydney SixersWACA Ground
2017/18Adelaide StrikersHobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval
2018/19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne StarsDocklands Stadium
2019/20Sydney SixersMelbourne StarsSCG
2020/21Sydney SixersPerth ScorchersSCG

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2022: European(UEFA), And CONMEBOL (South America) Qualifiers

SCG – Sydney Cricket Ground, MCG – Melbourne Cricket Ground

Total Titles Each Team

Sydney Sixers3
Perth Scorchers3
Adelaide Strikers1
Brisbane Heat1
Melbourne Renegades1
Sydney Thunders1
Melbourne Stars0
Hobart Hurricanes0

Also Read: ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2022: Schedule, Venue, Qualification, Ranking, Winners

BBL Individual Records

Most Runs Chris Lynn2951
Highest Bat AvgBradd Hodge42.78 (45 In)1412
Highest Ind ScoreMarcus Stoinis147*/792019-20
Most Sixes Chris Lynn 179
Most WicketsSean Abbott88 in 121 Matches
Best Economy RateLasith Malinga5.40 in 13 Matches

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top