ODI World Cup 2011
Image Source-BCCI

Star Sports Will Be Celebrating The Dream Win Of Team India Under MS Dhoni’s Captaincy In The 2011 World Cup. India won the 2011 ODI World Cup under MS Dhoni’s leadership, defeating Sri Lanka in the tournament final at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. Yuvraj Singh’s all-around performance and an ode to Sachin Tendulkar after winning the prized trophy will be remembered most, numerous exceptional performances also made headlines.

Star Sports will be celebrating India’s incredible World Cup 2011 win at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. The dream run of MS Dhoni and their teammates in the coveted tournament will be broadcasted to cherish this special moment.

31/03/2023: Ind vs Aus from 10 am

01/04/2023: Ind vs Pak from 10 am

02/04/2023: Ind vs SL from 10 am

Also Read: IPL 2023: Full Schedule, Venues, Time Table, And Complete Squad Of All 10 Teams

Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s six against Sri Lanka in the 2011 World Cup final impacted the course of Indian cricket. The historic moment, along with Ravi Shastri’s impassioned analysis, will live on in the hearts of every Indian cricket fan for the rest of their lives.

Winning the 2011 World Cup was one of the greatest achievements in Indian cricket history. While there were countless moments during the campaign that had spectators on the edge of their seats, the India vs Sri Lanka final offered cricket fans a memorable experience.

On April 2, 2011, practically the whole Wankhede Stadium was filled with Indian fans, transforming it into a sea of blue. The rest of the Indians were glued to their televisions, watching the championship match between the two main event hosts. You may enjoy the delight thanks to Star Sports!

India’s Journey In World Cup 2011

ODI World Cup 2011 was Sachin Tendulkar’s final chance to win this title before retiring from one-day internationals. The master blaster had waited 22 years for this occasion, which he described as the proudest moment of his life.

Also Read: Who Will Win IPL 2023? Predictions

In the opening match, India defeated Bangladesh by 87 runs, with Sehwag scoring a magnificent 170 and Kohli making his World Cup debut within a century. Eight days later, India and England played a memorable tie at Bangalore’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, with India scoring 338 and Sachin Tendulkar scoring 120.

A week later, India faced Ireland on the same field and won handily by five wickets. Men in Blue held Ireland to 207 in 47.5 overs, and Yuvraj Singh demonstrated his all-around ability by taking 5 wickets and hitting a match-winning 50.

India easily overcame Dutch cricketers in the fourth match, but they were soundly crushed by the formidable South Africans in the fifth. India advanced quickly to 283/5 after 43 overs after choosing to bat first. Tendulkar, the opener, scored another century, this one for 111, but they soon experienced a collapse.

Quarter- Final, Semi-Final and Final

Nevertheless, India defeated the West Indies in the last group match, advancing to the quarterfinals. India halted Australia’s Golden Period, as Australia entered this tournament having won three straight World Cups in 1999, 2003, and 2007. With Tendulkar & Gambhir’s fifty, and Yuvraj Singh’s all-round performance, India has single-handedly eliminated Australia from the tournament.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Complete Players List With IPL Stats And Full Squad

India and Pakistan, legendary rivals, faced off in the semi-finals. India batted first in this intense game, and Sehwag smashed Umar Gul with five straight fours. They scored a respectable 260, limited Pakistan to 231, and proceeded to the final.

Celebrations began early on April 2. When India won the World Cup 28 years later. MS Dhoni and his team gave the memorable present that every Indian in the world had prayed for.

India made history on the evening of April 2 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai when they defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets in an exciting final over. MS Dhoni decided to Bowl first after winning the toss. Men in Blue limited Sri Lankans to 275, and with the help of 91 from Captain Cool and 97 from Gambhir This World Cup was won by India.