IPL 2024 Playoffs
Image Source: IPL/Twitter

IPL 2024 Playoffs Scenarios: RR, SRH, CSK And KKR Strengthen Playoffs Bid. The ongoing season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is in full swing, captivating cricket fans worldwide with its thrilling matches and remarkable performances. As the tournament progresses, top teams are fiercely competing in the playoff race. First IPL champions RR is leading the charge in table tally. After a long time KKR and SRH can also make it to the playoffs. Defending champions Chennai Super Kings is also in pursuit of a historic sixth IPL title.

Additionally, the Gujarat Titans, 2022 winners, are displaying their prowess once again, while teams like Shreyas Iyer’s Kolkata Knight Riders and KL Rahul’s Lucknow Super Giants are also in contention, intensifying the competition. With just one win in 7 matches, Faf du Plessis-led RCB is almost out of the IPL 2024 playoffs race. With the excitement at its peak, IPL 2024 promises to deliver unforgettable moments as the race for the playoffs unfolds.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Teams, Groups, Captains And Head Coach List

Predicting the Top 4 Contenders for the IPL 2024 Playoffs Race:

1.Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals are currently sitting at 12 points in the IPL 2024 points standings, with an estimated requirement of 16 points to secure a playoff spot. They need just two more wins out of their remaining seven games. Sanju Samson-led RR have demonstrated strong tactics and execution, positioning themselves as the top teams in the competition.

RR beat KKR in their highest successful run chase in tournament history. Rajasthan Royals, with only 2 wickets remaining, required 46 runs in the final 18 balls when Jos Buttler’s explosive 107*(60) innings secured their victory at Eden Gardens with a remarkable IPL century. Holding the top spot in the points table, they are likely to qualify with games to spare.

Squad: Sanju Samson (c), Yuzvendra Chahal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Dhruv Jurel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Riyan Parag, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Sen, Donovan Ferreira, Jos Buttler, Navdeep Saini, Abid Mushtaq, Shimron Hetmyer, Tanush Kotian, Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Sharma, Nandre Burger, Shubham Dubey, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Kunal Rathore, Rovman Powell.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Full Schedule, Results, And Player Of The Match Award

RR’s upcoming schedule

  • April 22 – Jaipur: RR vs MI – 7:30PM
  • April 27 – Lucknow: LSG vs RR – 7:30PM
  • May 2 – Hyderabad: SRH vs RR – 7:30PM
  • May 7 – Delhi: DC vs RR – 7:30PM
  • May 12 – Chennai: CSK vs RR – 3:30PM
  • May 15 – Guwahati: RR vs PBKS – 7:30PM
  • May 19 – Guwahati: RR vs KKR – 7:30PM

2.Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders, with 8 points, also aim to reach the 16-point mark for playoff qualification, requiring four wins from their remaining eight games. Gautam Gambhir’s return to the team has revitalized their form, and they currently boast the best net run rate in the league. This suggests they could potentially qualify with fewer than 16 points, but their strong performance makes qualification seem quite achievable.

Squad: Nitish Rana, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sherfane Rutherford, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Rinku Singh, Sunil Narine, Ramandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer (c), Suyash Sharma, Vaibhav Arora, Andre Russell, Chetan Sakariya, Anukul Roy, Varun Chakaravarthy, Harshit Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Mitchell Starc, Manish Pandey, Venkatesh Iyer, KS Bharat, Sakib Hussain, Gus Atkinson, Allah Ghazanafar.

KKR’s upcoming schedule

  • April 21 – Kolkata: KKR vs RCB – 3:30 PM
  • April 26 – Kolkata: KKR vs PBKS – 7:30 PM
  • April 29 – Kolkata: KKR vs DC – 7:30 PM
  • May 3 – Mumbai: MI vs KKR – 7:30 PM
  • May 5 – Lucknow: LSG vs KKR – 7:30 PM
  • May 11 – Kolkata: KKR vs MI – 7:30 PM
  • May 13 – Ahmedabad: GT vs KKR – 7:30 PM
  • May 19 – Guwahati: RR vs KKR – 7:30 PM

Also Read: IPL 2024 Coaches: All Teams Head Coach, Support Staff And Their Salaries

3.Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings, also at 8 points, need four more wins from their remaining eight games to reach the playoff threshold. Their season has seen mixed results, with a perfect home record contrasted by losses on the road. However, a recent victory over Mumbai Indians indicates they are still in contention for qualification, although it may come down to their performance in the final few matches.

Squad: MS Dhoni (c), Devon Conway, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Simarjeet Singh, Deepak Chahar, Ravindra Jadeja, Maheesh Theekshana, Moeen Ali, Nishant Sindhu, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Choudhary, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mustafizur Rahman, Ajinkya Rahane, Matheesha Pathirana, Shivam Dube, Mitchell Santner, Rachin Ravindra, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Sameer Rizvi, Avanish Rao Aravelly, Ajay Mandal, Prashant Solanki, Shaik Rasheed.

CSK’s upcoming schedule

  • April 19 – Lucknow: LSG vs CSK – 7:30 PM
  • April 23 – Chennai: CSK vs LSG – 7:30 PM
  • April 28 – Chennai: CSK vs SRH – 7:30 PM
  • May 1 – Chennai: CSK vs PBKS – 7:30 PM
  • May 5 – Dharamsala: PBKS vs CSK – 3:30 PM
  • May 10 – Ahmedabad: GT vs CSK – 7:30 PM
  • May 12 – Chennai: CSK vs RR – 3:30 PM
  • May 18 – Bengaluru: RCB vs CSK – 7:30 PM

4.Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad, sharing the same points tally as CSK, also requires four wins from their remaining eight games to secure a playoff berth. With three wins and two losses so far, they have shown flashes of brilliance, such as their IPL-record score of 287 against RCB. However, inconsistency has plagued them, leaving their qualification prospects uncertain as they navigate the remainder of the season.

Squad: Abdul Samad, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Abhishek Sharma, Marco Jansen, Umran Malik, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Mayank Agarwal, Travis Head, Glenn Phillips, Sanvir Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Aiden Markram (c), T. Natarajan, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Markande, Upendra Singh Yadav, Umran Malik, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, Pat Cummins, Jhathavedh Subramanyan, Akash Singh.

SRH’s upcoming schedule

  • April 20 – Delhi: DC vs SRH – 7:30 PM
  • April 25 – Hyderabad: SRH vs RCB – 7:30 PM
  • April 28 – Chennai: CSK vs SRH – 7:30 PM
  • May 2 – Hyderabad: SRH vs RR – 7:30 PM
  • May 6 – Mumbai: MI vs SRH – 7:30 PM
  • May 8 – Hyderabad: SRH vs LSG – 7:30 PM
  • May 16 – Hyderabad: SRH vs GT – 7:30 PM
  • May 19 – Hyderabad: SRH vs PBKS – 3:30 PM