The BCCI selection committee declared a 20 players squad ( two players subject to fitness clearance) and four standby players for the World Test Championship Final and five match test series against England. WTC final and test series will be played in a bio secure bubble due to Covid pandemic.

Although almost all the names of the team are anticipated, but the ouster of Prithvi Shaw, who performed brilliantly in Vijay Hazare and IPL 2021,surprised many. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik Pandya also have failed to make the cut .


WTC final is scheduled to play from 18th to 22nd June, and June 23rd kept as a reserve day.

Team India’s squad for WTC final and 5 match test series against England:

Virat Kohli (C), Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubhman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Mayank Agarwal,Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Bumrah, Ishant, Shami, Md Siraj, Shardul, Umesh.

Wriddhiman Saha (WK) and KL Rahul subject to fitness clearance.

Also Read : Head to Head India vs England in ODI

Standby players: Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan,Abhimanyu Easwaran, Arzan Nagwaswalla

According to BCCI sources team India likely to depart for England on 2nd June .