Australia Schedule WTC
Image Source:

WTC Final 2023 India vs Australia: Date, Venue, Probable XIs, Broadcast Details, And All You Need To Know. After two years of toiling hard in the whites, the two best-performing sides in Test cricket, India and Australia qualified for the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023 final. The WTC 2023 final will take place from June 7 to 11 at Kennington Oval in London. June 12 is the reserve day for WTC final 2023.

The defending champion New Zealand couldn’t book their ticket to the WTC final this time around. However, the runner-up of the previous cycle, India made it into the WTC final consecutive second time.

WTC 2023 Finalists- India And Australia

Australia qualified for the WTC final first time by topping the points table for the WTC cycle 2021-23.  They won 11 Test matches out of 19 in this cycle of the World Test Championship. They lost only three games and drew five in the stipulated period. On the other hand, Rohit Sharma-led India is ranked in the second position in the WTC points table by winning 10 Test matches out of 18. They lost five games and drew three.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Ticket Booking Online: How To Book Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings Match Tickets

Probable XIs of India And Australia

As WTC 2021-23 final will take place at the typical English Test match pitch at the Kennington Oval in London, so conditions will help swing bowlers. India may opt for three pacers with one premier spinner Ravi Ashwin in eleven. Ravindra Jadeja will be a spin-bowling all-rounder in the playing XI.

As KL Rahul dropped after in the middle of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy due to a string of low scores, most probably Shubman Gill will open with skipper Rohit Sharma in the WTC final.

Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli will form the core of the middle order of India. Shreyas Iyer is recovering from health problems, so if he won’t regain his fitness by the end of June, Hanuma Vihari can get a Test call-up. As wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant was injured last year in a car accident, Srikar Bharat will likely take the gloves for India in the final.

As premier pacer Jasprit Bumrah is still recovering from a back injury, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, and Umesh Yadav will form the pace battery of India for the WTC final 2023. 

Also Read: Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023: A Game-Changer for Women’s Cricket in India  

India Playing XI: Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma (c), Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav.

David Warner was injured during the second Test of the Border-Gavaskar trophy 2023, however, he will likely regain his fitness before the WTC final. Warner and Usman Khawaja will likely open for Australia in the WTC final. Test no. 1 batman Marnus Labuschagne and Steven Smith will form their middle-order. Travis Head and all-rounder Cameron Green will be part of the lower middle order along with wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey.

Australia will be hoping their leading pacer Josh Hazlewood will be fit by end of the June, as he was side-lined from the Test series against India due to an Achilles injury. Australia will likely play with their star-studded pace battery consisting of skipper Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood in the all-important WTC final. Veteran off-spinner Nathan Lyon will be the sole spinner in Australia playing XI for the WTC final.

Australia Playing XI: Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith (c), Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (w), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Three Mumbai Indians (MI) Players Who Can Win Orange Cap In The Tournament

Live Broadcast Of The WTC Final

Star Sports Network purchased the rights to a live Television broadcast of the ICC World Test Championship final. So Indian fans can watch the final on Star Sports channels on TV. Disney + Hotstar will live stream the WTC final for Indian fans.

In the UK, SKY Sports bought Television rights to the WTC final; whereas SKY and BCC have digital live-streaming rights. In Australia, Fox Sports will be the sole broadcaster for Television and internet live streaming of the WTC final.