Updated: 28 March 2024

Punjab Kings History:

The Punjab Kings is a franchise cricket team of the Indian Premier League (IPL) having their hometown as Punjab in Mohali. It was Established in 2008 as the Kings XI Punjab. The franchise is jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. The home ground of Punjab Kings is PCA stadium, Mohali.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Team India Schedule, Match Timings In IST, Venues, And Date

Punjab Kings Owner

The team Punjab was bought by renowned Dabur group’s Mohit Burman (46% share), the Wadia group’s Ness Wadia (23% share), Preity Zinta (23% share), and Saptarshi Dey of the Dey & Dey Group (with minority stake). This group paid a total of $76 million to acquire this franchise way back in the year 2008.

The official theme song of Punjab Kings is “Hun chakde ne pathe”

On 17 February 2021, Kings XI Punjab was renamed as Punjab Kings before IPL auction 2021.


Punjab Kings (KingsXI Punjab) captain’s (all seasons)

IPL 2021 Season 14KL Rahul
IPL 2020 Season 13KL Rahul
IPL 2019 Season 12Ravichandran Ashwin
IPL 2018 Season 11Ravichandran Ashwin
IPL 2017 Season 10Glenn Maxwell
IPL 2016 Season 9Murali Vijay
IPL 2015 Season 8George Bailey
IPL 2014 Season 7George Bailey
IPL 2013 Season 6Adam Gilchrist
IPL 2012 Season 5David Hussey
IPL 2011 Season 4Adam Gilchrist
IPL 2010 Season 3Kumar Sangakkara
IPL 2009 Season 2Yuvraj Singh
IPL 2008 Season 1Yuvraj Singh

Also Read: IPL 2022: Released And Retained Players List, Remaining Purse Value Of All Teams

Punjab Kings (KingsX1 Punjab) full squad Tata IPL 2022

Here is the full squad of Punjab Kings for Tata IPL 2022

PBKS retained only 2 players – Mayank Agarwal – 12 cr, Arshdeep Singh – 4 cr

Mayank Agarwal (c)

Batsmen listBowlers listWicketkeepers listAllrounders list
Mayank AgarwalMohammed ShamiDeepak Hooda
Chris GayleArshdeep SinghNicholas PooranSharukh Khan
Mandeep SinghDarshan NalkandePrabhsimran SinghMoises Henriques
Sarfaraz KhanHardeep BrarFabian Allen
Dawid MalanM AshwinJalaj Saxena
Ishan PorelSaurabh Kumar
Ravi BishnoiUtkarsh Singh
Chris Jordan
Jhye Richardson
Riley Meredith

Also Read: IPL 2022 Team List, Captains, Home Ground, Head Coaches, And Owners

Note – we will update the final squad after the mega auction 2022, which is scheduled on Feb 12 & 13 in Bengaluru.

Punjab Kings (KingsXI Punjab) Released players IPL 2022 Auction

Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, Jimmy Neesham, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Sheldon Cottrell, Krishnappa Gowtham, Tajinder Singh, Hardus Viljoen.

Punjab Kings (KingsXI Punjab) IPL auction 2022 Players List

Punjab Kings had the luxury of having the maximum budget in IPL  auction 2021 with Rs. 53.20 crore. The franchise bought 9 players in the IPL 2021 mini-auction, spending a whopping Rs. 47.90 crore. Australian fast bowler Jhye Richardson was Punjab Kings’ most expensive purchase at Rs. 14 crores.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Prize Money, Start Date, Auction Date, Team List, Broadcasting Rights, And What You Need To Know

Jhye Richardson (Bowler)- Rs. 14 crores

Riley Meredith (Bowler)- Rs. 8 crores

Shahrukh Khan (All-Rounder)- Rs. 5.25 crore

Moises Henriques (All-Rounder)- Rs. 4.2 crore

David Malan (All-Rounder)- Rs. 1.5 crore

Fabian Allen (All-Rounder)- Rs. 75 lakhs

Also Read: IPL 2022 Mega Auction: 5 Expected Debutants From Each Test Playing Nation

Jalaj Saxena (All-Rounder)- Rs. 30 lakhs

Saurabh Kumar (All-Rounder)- Rs. 20 lakhs

Utkarsh Singh (All-Rounder)- Rs. 20 lakhs

Also Read: IPL: Top 5 Most Consistent Indian Batsmen In The History Of IPL

Punjab kings Top 5 expensive players IPL 2022:

Here is the list of Punjab kings Top 5 expensive players 2021

     1>Jhye Richardson – 14 crores

     2> KL Rahul -12.5 crores

     3> Riley Meredith -8.5 crores


      4> Shahrukh Khan -5.25 crore

  5>Mohd. Shami -5.8 crore

Punjab Kings Past performance (Team performance, most runs, most wickets):

Given below is the Punjab Kings team performance from 2008-2020:


YearLeague table rankingFinal standing
20082nd out of 8Semifinalists (3rd)
20095th out of 85th
20108th out of 88th
20115th out of 105th
20126th out of 96th
20136th out of 96th
20141st out of 8Runners-up
20158th out of 88th
20168th out of 88th
20175th out of 85th
20187th out of 87th
20196th out of 86th
20206th out of 86th
20216th out of 86th

Also Read: FIFA World Cup: Winners, Runners-up, Golden Ball Recipients, Venues And Teams From 1930 Till To-Date

Most runs: SE. Marsh (2477)

Most wickets: Piyush Chawla (87)

Most century: Hashim Amla (2)

The Title Sponsor For PBKS is EBIX CASH.

Punjab kings Schedule For TATA IPL 2022

Also Read: IPL Orange Cap Winners List

4April 12, MondayRajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings19:30Mumbai
8April 16, FridayPunjab Kings vs Chennai Super Kings19:30Mumbai
11April 18, SundayDelhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings19:30Mumbai
14April 21, WedPunjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad15:30Chennai
17April 23, FridayPunjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians19:30Chennai
21April 26, MondayPunjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders19:30Ahmedabad
26April 30, FridayPunjab Kings vs Royal Challengers19:30Ahmedabad
29May 2, SundayPunjab Kings Vs Delhi Capitals19:30Ahmedabad
32Sep 21, Tue Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals7.30 PMDubai
37Sep 25, SatPBKS vs SRH 7.30 PMSharjah
42Sep 28, TueMumbai Indians v Punjab Kings7.30 PMAbu Dhabi
45Oct 1, FriKolkata Knight Riders v Punjab Kings7.30 PMDubai
48Oct 3, SunPBKS vs RCB3.30 PMSharjah
53Oct 7, ThuPBKS vs CSK 3.30 PMDubai

stay tuned with us for TATA IPL 2022 schedule.