ODI World Cup 2023: Schedule, Venue, Date, Teams, Live Streaming, And Prize Pool Details

Updated: 15 August 2023

World Cup 2023
Image Source: ICC Website

ODI World Cup 2023: Schedule, Venue, Date, Teams, Live Streaming, And Prize Pool Details. The 13th edition of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to happen in India. The most prominent tournament will be played from 5 October 2023 to 19 November 2023. Ten teams will compete in the tournament across 10 venues. At present, England is the defending champion after winning the CWC 2019.

The CWC 2023 has 10 officially qualified teams. The arch-rivals India vs Pakistan and the opening match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 are scheduled to take place in Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium.

India has jointly hosted the 1987, 1996 and 2011 Men’s Cricket World Cups with other nations on the Indian subcontinent. However, CWC 2023 will be held solely in India for the first time. Since The CWC happens every four years, ICC refers to the competition as the “flagship event of the international cricket calendar.”

India, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka (qualifier 2) and Netherlands (qualifier 1) are the 10 teams for World Cup 2023.

Also Read: Team India’s Core Squad For Asia Cup 2023 And ODI World Cup

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule, Venues

The schedule for a World Cup has been released. 48 games will be played across 10 cities. Following are the dates and the venues.

October 5thEngland vs New ZealandAhmedabad
October 6thPakistan vs Sri LankaHyderabad
October 7thBangladesh vs Afghanistan, South Africa vs Sri LankaDharamsala, Delhi
October 8thIndia vs AustraliaChennai
October 9thNew Zealand vs NetherlandsHyderabad
October 10thEngland vs BangladeshDharamsala
October 11thIndia vs Afghanistan Delhi
October 12thPakistan vs Sri LankaHyderabad
October 13thAustralia vs South AfricaLucknow
October 14thEngland vs Afghanistan, New Zealand vs Bangladesh,Delhi, Chennai
October 14thIndia vs PakistanAhmedabad
October 16thAustralia vs Sri LankaLucknow
October 17thSouth Africa vs NetherlandsDharamsala
October 18thNew Zealand vs AfghanistanChennai
October 19thIndia vs BangladeshPune
October 20thAustralia vs PakistanBengaluru
October 21stEngland vs South Africa, Netherlands vs Sri lankaMumbai, Lucknow
October 22ndIndia vs New ZealandDharamsala
October 23rdAfghanistan vs PakistanChennai
October 24thSouth Africa vs BangladeshMumbai
October 25thAustralia vs NetherlandsDelhi
October 26thEngland vs Sri LankaBengaluru
October 27thPakistan vs South AfricaChennai
October 28thNew Zealand vs AustraliaDharamsala
October 29thIndia vs EnglandLucknow
October 30thSri Lanka vs AfghanistanPune
October 31stBangladesh vs PakistanKolkata
November 1stSouth Africa vs New ZealandPune
November 2ndIndia vs Sri LankaMumbai
November 3rdAfghanistan vs NetherlandsLucknow
November 4thAustralia vs England, Pakistan vs New ZealandAhmedabad, Bengaluru
November 5thIndia vs South AfricaKolkata
November 6thSri Lanka vs BangladeshDelhi
November 7thAfghanistan vs AustraliaMumbai
November 8thEngland vs NetherlandsPune
November 9thSri Lanka vs New ZealandBengaluru
November 10thAfghanistan vs South AfricaAhmedabad
November 12thIndia vs NetherlandsBengaluru
November 12thEngland vs Pakistan, Australia vs BangladeshKolkata, Pune
November 15thSemi Final 1Mumbai
November 16thSemi Final 2Kolkata
November 19thFinalAhmedabad

Source: ICC Cricket Website

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Date, Hosts, Format And Qualified Teams

Venue of World Cup 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup (CWC) 2023 will be played across 10 venues with the first and the final match being played at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Additionally, India vs Pakistan will also be played at Narendra Modi Stadium. Additionally, The warm-up matches will take place in Guwahati, Thiruvananthapuram, and Hyderabad from September 29 to October 3.

Complete List of Cities and Stadiums for The ICC World Cup 2023

CityStadium Name
AhmedabadNarendra Modi Stadium
BengaluruM Chinnaswamy Stadium
ChennaiMA Chidambaram Stadium
DelhiArun Jaitley Cricket Stadium
DharamsalaHimachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium
LucknowEkana Cricket Stadium
HyderabadRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium
KolkataEden Gardens
MumbaiWankhede Stadium
PuneMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium
Source: BCCI Twitter

Broadcasting Details of World Cup 2023

On Televison, Star Sports will broadcast the ICC World Cup and Asia Cup 2023. In 2015, the ICC granted Star Sports the exclusive worldwide broadcast rights to all ICC Events. Star Sports Network have the right to broadcast all ICC events, including the ICC Champions Trophy, ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup, ICC Women’s World Cup, ICC World Twenty20, and their qualifying matches until 2023.

This year, Hotstar subscribers who want to watch the matches, won’t need a premium subscription because both the Asia Cup 2023 and the ICC World Cup 2023 will be streamed for free on Disney+ Hotstar app. After seeing a decline in their subscriber base as a result of JioCinema airing the IPL 2023 for free, Hotstar made this announcement on Friday of last week.

Also Read: Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023: Teams, Squads, Schedule, Time In IST, And Broadcast Details

Prize Pool of World Cup 2023

When it comes to the ICC events, prize money always soars high. The ICC CWC 2023 total prize pool is $10 Million. The largest portion of the reward, a whooping $4 million, will go to the champion of the ICC World Cup 2023. The runner-up of CWC 2023 will get a total sum of $2 million.

The two semifinalists who will not advance to the finals will also receive $800,000 each as compensation.. Moreover, every participating teams will also receive $100,000 in the league stage of World Cup 2023. This ensures that every participating team will go home with some prize in their hand.