T20 World Cup 2024
Image Source- icc-cricket.com

Updated: 03 November 2023

T20 World Cup 2024: Date, Hosts, Format, And Qualified Teams. The 9th edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will take place in West Indies and America from 4 June to 30 June 2024. The supreme body of world cricket ICC announced in November 2021 that the T20 tournament will be hosted by West Indies and the USA jointly. This will be the first time that the United States Of America will host a major ICC tournament. A total of 55 matches will be played among 20 teams for the coveted trophy.

England is the defending champion of the T20 World Cup, they defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets in the final at Melbourne Cricket Ground (Australia). England and West Indies are the most successful teams in this format. England won the trophy in 2010 and 2022 while West Indies emerged victorious in 2012 and 2016. India won the trophy in its inaugural season in 2007 under the captaincy of magical MS Dhoni in South Africa. Team India beat Pakistan in the final.

ICC Men’s T20 World 2024 Format

All 20 teams will be divided into 4 groups of five. Two teams from each group advance to the Super 8 round. In this stage 8 qualified teams will qualify for the T20 World Cup 2024 knockout round and then teams will compete in two semi-finals and final of the tournament.

Also Read: IPL 2024: West Indies All-Rounder Romario Shepherd Joins Mumbai Indians Traded From Lucknow Super Giants

T20 World Cup 2024 Qualified Teams

A total of 18 teams qualify so far for the tournament. West Indies and the USA qualified automatically for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Rest 2 teams will be decided by the ICC T20 World Cup qualifier matches which are scheduled to take place from 30 Sep to 1 Dec 2023. Other qualified teams are

West Indies, USA, India, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, England, New Zealand, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Scotland, Ireland, Netherlands, and Papua New Guinea, Canada, Oman, Nepal