PSL 2024 Details

Updated: 12 January 2024

Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024: Schedule, Venues, Prize Money, Winners List, And Other Details. The 9th season of the Pakistan Super League, also known as PSL 2024, will feature matches held in Pakistan across four venues: Karachi, Lahore, Multan, and Rawalpindi. The opening match will commence at Multan Cricket Stadium from 7:30 pm (8:00 pm IST) after the opening ceremony, and it will see defending champions Lahore Qalandars take on two-time winners Islamabad United. Today PCB announces PSL 2024 schedule, tournament will take place between 17 February to March 18, 2024. The first match of the tournament will be played between Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad Unite at Lahore.

Lahore Qalandars won last season’s PSL by defeating the Multan Sultans in the final at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. The upcoming season will be just as exciting with six teams competing and no changes to the line-up from last year. All 34 matches in PSL 2024 will follow a double round-robin format, with each team playing twice, culminating in a semi-final and final match. PSL 2024 draft took place on 13 December 2024 at National Cricket Academy, Lahore .

Image Source- PSL Twitter

Also Read: HBL PSL 2024: All 6 Teams Captain, Head Coach And Full Coaching Staff List

Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024 Basic Details

EditionSeason 8, 2024
Opening Ceremony13 February
Grand Finale18 March
Total Matches34
Player Draft13th December

Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024 Venues

The committee discussed cataloging HBL PSL 9, deciding that it will run from February 9th to March 18th, 2024 across four venues in Lahore, Karachi, Rawalpindi, and Multan. Further discussions with stakeholders and PCB are scheduled to confirm the detailed schedule.

PSL 2024 Team Captains

Islamabad United- Shadab Khan
Lahore Qalandars- Shaheen Shah Afridi
Quetta Gladiators- Sarfaraz Ahmed
Karachi Kings- Shan Masood
Peshawar Zalmi- Babar Azam
Multan Sultans- Md Rizwan

Also Read: PSL 2024 Squads: Players List Of All 6 Teams After Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024 Draft

PSL Team Player Draft 2024

The Pakistan Super League drafts around 100 players each year for its six franchises, including Lahore Qalandars, Islamabad United, Quetta Gladiators, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi, and Karachi Kings. There is a request given for adding 2 more franchises and if confirmed we will be able to see 8 teams fighting for the trophy in PSL 2024. A planned picking system is used to select competent players from different categories.

  • Supplementary Category
  • Emerging
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Diamond
  • Platinum

In a squad of 16 to 18 players, the number of selected players from each category is as follows:

CategoryNo. of Players
Supplementary2 (Optional)

Also Read: World Test Championship 2023-25: Team India WTC Schedule Before ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Teams participating in a certain category must follow a specific order for their picks, with time limits of two minutes for the first three rounds and 90 seconds for subsequent rounds. Teams are also required to comply with squad combination rules when making their picks.

Winners List Of Pakistan Super League (PSL) From 2016 To Date

82023Lahore QalandarsMultan Sultans
72022Lahore QalandarsMultan Sultan
62021Multan SultansPeshawar Zalmi
52020Karachi KingsLahore Qalandars
42019Quetta GladiatorsPeshawar Zalmi
32018Islamabad UnitedPeshawar Zalmi
22017Peshawar ZalmiQuetta Gladiators
12016Islamabad UnitedQuetta Gladiators

Also Read: PSL 2024: Islamabad United’s History, Captains, And Retained Players List

Pakistan Super League (PSL) Prize Money 2024

AwardWinnerPrize amount (approx)
WinnersLahore QalandarsINR 3.40 crore
Runners-upMultan SultansINR 1.36 crore 
Best BatterMohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans)INR 14.86 lakh 
Best BowlerIhsanullah (Multan Sultans)INR 14.86 lakh
Best Wicket-keeperMohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans)INR 14.86 lakh
Best FielderKieron Pollard (Multan Sultans)INR 14.86 lakh
Best AllrounderImad Wasim (Karachi Kings)INR 14.86 lakh
Spirit of cricket awardPeshawar ZalmiINR 14.86 lakh 
Emerging Player of the TournamentAbbas Afridi (Multan Sultans)INR 14.86 lakh
Player of the TournamentIhsanullah (Multan Sultans)INR 14.86 lakh

Latest- Pakistan government banned PCB from selling the media rights of PSL and international matches.