Islamabad United
Image Source: Twitter @IsbUnited

PSL 2024: Islamabad United’s History, Captains, And Retained Players List. Islamabad United is a professional T20 cricket team in the Pakistan Super League (PSL). Established in 2015, the team is based in Islamabad. The franchise succeeded by winning the PSL title in its inaugural season against Quetta Gladiators. It secured its second title in the third season, defeating Peshawar Zalmi in the final.

The renowned franchise Islamabad United, distinguished by its red-and-black colors, has solidified its position as the most accomplished team in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) history. However, Boasting an impressive record of two championship titles, Islamabad United emerges as a towering figure in a highly competitive field of talented teams

IU plays its home matches at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium and is coached by Mike Hesson, succeeding Azhar Mahmood. Shadab Khan assumed the captaincy before PSL 5, becoming the youngest captain in PSL history. The coaching staff includes Ashley Wright as the batting coach and James Franklin as the bowling coach.

Leonine Global Investments owns the franchise, emphasizing global investments and business interests. Through its sports entity, Leonine Global Sports, the company also possesses Hong Kong Island United, a franchise team in the Hong Kong T20 Blitz. Leonine Global is owned by Ali Naqvi and Amna Naqvi. Islamabad United has played 88 matches, winning 47 and losing 40, with a success rate of 53.97%. They have reached the playoffs seven times, and notably, they secured the championship title two times, in 2016 and 2018.

Also Read: HBL PSL 2024: All 6 Teams Captain, Head Coach And Full Coaching Staff List

Islamabad United Captains (Year-Wise)

2023: Shadab Khan

2022: Shadab Khan

2021: Shadab Khan

2020: Shadab Khan

2019: Mohammad Sami

2018: Misbah-ul-Haq

2017: Misbah-ul-Haq

2016: Misbah-ul-Haq

Throughout its history, Islamabad United has had renowned leaders such as Misbah-ul-Haq, Shadab Khan, and Mohammad Sami. These experienced cricketers not only demonstrated their on-field skills but also fostered a winning mindset among the team members. Captain Shadab Khan’s effective leadership, combined with the strategic insights of the coaching staff has been, crucial in guiding the team to success.

Also Read: HBL PSL 2024: All 6 Franchises Announce Player Retention List For PSL 9

Islamabad United: A Tale of Ups and Downs in PSL 2023

Islamabad United’s journey in PSL 2023 resembled a roller coaster, starting strongly with two initial victories but grappling with inconsistency thereafter. Despite notable performances, such as Colin Munro’s impressive 298 runs and occasional brilliance from bowlers Hasan Ali (13 wickets) and Shadab Khan (12 wickets), unexpected losses followed.

Eventually, they clinched a playoff spot, finishing the season in fourth place with 6 wins and 5 losses. The team’s challenges in maintaining batting consistency and bowling discipline turned out to be their weaknesses, leaving fans with a feeling of unfulfilled promise.

Islamabad United’s Retained Squad For PSL 2024:

Shadab Khan and Naseem Shah (both Platinum), Alex Hales and Colin Munro (all Gold), Rumman Raees (Successful relegation request in Silver), Imad Wasim (Mentor) and Azam Khan (both Diamond), Faheem Ashraf (Brand Ambassador)