Source: ICC/Twitter

WTC Final 2023: ICC Picks 5 Key Test Matches Wins In India’s Journey To No. 1 Test Ranking: Despite a draw in the fourth Test against Australia, India qualified for the World Test Championship (WTC) final on March 13th. New Zealand’s victory over Sri Lanka ensured the Men in Blue’s position in the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023 final for the second year in a row.

Australia had already qualified for the WTC final after winning the third test against India in Indore. The anticipation was for the Christchurch game, in which both sides played ferociously.

Sri Lanka’s loss to New Zealand did not benefit them because they were unable to continue their World Cup campaign. However, India can breathe a sigh of relief as they prepare to face Australia in the much-anticipated final match.

The final match between India and Australia in the ICC WTC Championship has been scheduled for June 7, 2023, at the Kennington Oval Stadium in London, UK. India is now ranked #1 in the ICC test rankings, in addition to qualifying for the WTC Final 2023. The ICC recently chose five test matches for India. which played a critical part in India’s ranking as the number one test team.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: Nepal Will Join India And Pakistan In Group A After Qualifying For The First Time

ICC Picks Top 5 Test Matches That Made India No 1 Test Team

India vs England Lord’s Test (2021)

The second test of India’s tour of England. The Lords, was all set to host the match, and India began by scoring 364 with the aid of KL Rahul’s 164. In response, the host scored 391 runs, with Captain Root scoring 180.

India gave the target of 325 with a score of 298 with the help of 4 wickets taken by Mohd Siraj. India defeated England by 151 runs.

India vs Sri Lanka Mohali Test (2022)

Sri Lanka toured India for two test matches in 2022 and lost both. The first match was chosen as an important match by the ICC. where India completely outplayed its opponent by an innings and 222 runs. India Came to bat and scored 574 runs, with Ravindra Jadeja scoring 175 not out and Rishabh Pant scoring 95.

Sri Lanka came for batting in first inning and breakdown like a piece of cake They were dismissed for 174, giving them a follow-on. Lanka’s second innings was no different, as they were all out for 178. Ravindra Jadeja had an all-round performance, taking 9 wickets in total, 5 in the first innings and 4 in the second.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Orange Cap, Purple Cap And Updated Points Table

India vs Bangladesh Chattogram Test (2022)

In December 2022, India travelled to Bangladesh for a test series and crushed them at home. For the first test, India batted first and scored 404 runs. In response to Bangladesh can only manage to get 150 runs. India’s Kuldeep Yadav displayed superb leg spin and claimed 5 wickets.

In the second inning, India declared the Inning at 258 and gave the target of 512 runs. After which Bangladesh was all out at 324 and India won the match by 188 runs.

India vs Australia Nagpur Test (2023)

Australia came India for a four-match test series in February 2023. This was a crucial series for both India and Australia since it determined who would compete in the WTC Final in 2023. In the opening encounter, Ravindra Jadeja showed mastery by taking 5 wickets, limiting Australia to 177 runs.

In response to Australia’s 177, India batted and scored 400, with the skipper getting 120. India outplayed Australia in the second innings. They sent all of their players to Pavillion at 91 runs, and won the game by an innings and 132 runs.

India vs Australia Delhi Test (2023)

The hosts defeated Australia by 6 wickets in the second test of their visit of India. Australia batted first and scored 263 runs. In response to which, India fell one run short and was all out at 262.

India cleared out the Australians in 113 and paved the way for their win. In this inning, Ravichandran Ashwin grabbed 5 wickets. India quickly chased down the 115-run target and won the match by 6 wickets.

WTC Final 2023 Final Squads

India: Virat, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj, Mohd. Shami, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, KS Bharat, Jaydev Unadkat, Shubhman Gill, Rohit Sharma,

Australia: Pat Cummins, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Scott Boland, Marcus Harris, Matthew Renshaw