Chennai Super Kings vs Gujarat Titans
Image Source: Twitter

IPL 2024 Opener: Chennai Super Kings Will Face Gujarat Titans In First Match: Reports. IPL chairman Arun Dhumal announced on Tuesday that the 17th edition of the Indian Premier League is scheduled to commence on March 22 and will be held entirely in India despite the general elections. The IPL opener on March 22 will feature defending champions Chennai Super Kings vs Gujarat Titans, the runner-ups from the previous season.

IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal informed news agency ANI that the season’s schedule will be divided into two halves. Initially, the schedule for the first half will be revealed. Subsequently, the schedule for the remaining half will be announced following the announcement of general election dates.

Dhumal stated, “As of now, we plan to start the tournament in Chennai on March 22.” He further added, “We are keeping a tab on the situation, and we can plan the latter half of the tournament accordingly once the dates for the general elections are announced.”

Due to the upcoming elections in April and May, the schedule for the 17th edition of the IPL has not been unveiled yet. Dhumal said, “We are looking at a March 22 start for the IPL 2024. We are working closely with the government agencies, and we will first release the initial schedule. The entire tournament will be held in India.” The dates for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls are anticipated to be announced early next month.

Also Read: WPL 2024: Live Streaming, Venues, Full Schedule, Squads And Prize Money

Historically, the IPL has encountered scheduling challenges during election periods. In 2009, the entire season shifted to South Africa due to the general elections. Similarly, in 2014, the first half of the season played in the UAE because of the elections, with the latter half completed in India. However, in 2019, the IPL was held entirely in India despite the concurrent elections.

Following the conclusion of the IPL, the T20 World Cup 2024 will commence. India’s men’s team is set to participate in the tournament. Starting with their first group-stage match against Ireland on June 5. This will be followed by a series of matches leading up to the final round.

CSK Full Squad For IPL 2024

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Prashant Solanki, Deepak Chahar, Mitchell Santner, Shaik Rasheed. Moeen Ali, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Simarjeet Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni, Mukesh Choudhary. Tushar Deshpande, Ajay Mandal, Nishant Sindhu, Ravindra Jadeja, Devon Conway, Rajvardhan Hangargekar.

GT Full Squad For IPL 2024

Kane Williamson, Sushant Mishra, Kartik Tyagi, Rashid Khan, Spencer Johnson. Shubman Gill (c), Robin Minz, Joshua Little, Noor Ahmad, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Azmatullah Omarzai, Shahrukh Khan. Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, B. Sai Sudharsan, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Manav Suthar, Darshan Nalkande, Abhinav Manohar, Sai Kishore, Mohit Sharma, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia.