WPL 2024 Schedule
Source: X

WPL 2024: Live Streaming, Venues, Full Schedule, Squads and Prize Money. The Women’s Premier League is the women’s Twenty20 cricket league, which was started as the women’s version of the prestigious Indian Premier League. The BCCI governs the league franchise tournament, which included 5 teams that played in the inaugural season of 2023. 

The domestic tournament was preceded by the Women’s T20 Challenge, which was a one-match cup in 2018 and then a 3-team tournament played for three editions from 2019 to 2022. It was when Sourav Ganguly, the then-president of the BCCI, announced the idea of a women’s rendition of the Indian Premier League.

The opening season included 5 teams, namely – Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Royal Challengers Bangalore and UP Warriorz, who played in a double round-robin format until the playoff between the 2nd and 3rd position teams, the winner of which will play the league stage toppers in the finals.

Also Read: Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024 Squads: Team Players List, And Injury Updates Of All 6 Teams

WPL Inaugural Season

The Women’s Premier League was played for the first time in 2023 with these 5 teams participating and both the Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians, led by two veteran captains, Meg Lanning and Harmanpreet Kaur, were stunning in the league games. 

The previous season was won by Mumbai Indian women, who included greats like Nat Sciver, Hayley Matthews, Harmanpreet Kaur and Amy Kerr. 

Meg Lanning ended the season as the highest scorer with 345 runs and Hayley Mathews was the star, both with the bat and ball, and was going to be the most valuable player of the season. 

WPL 2024: Live Streaming 

The Sports 18 network continues to retain the broadcasting rights for the Women’s Premier League 2024. Hence, the tournament can be streamed live on the Jio Cinema App as well. 

WPL 2024: Venues 

The inaugural season was played primarily across Mumbai, however, the upcoming 2nd edition of the WPL has been scheduled to be played at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru and the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. 

The edition kicks off on the 23rd of this month at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru and after the thrilling contest of the first half of 11 games being played at this venue, the action shifts to the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, which is also scheduled to host the playoffs as well as the finals of the WPL 2024. 

Also Read: IPL 2024 RCB vs CSK: Head-To-Head Stats, Retained, Released Players, And Complete Squad

WPL 2024 Schedule
Image Source-Twitter)

WPL 2024 Auctions 

Annabel Sutherland and Kashvee Gautam earned 2 crore contracts and went on to be the biggest bids of the WPL 2024 auction

However, in the inaugural auction, Indian star Smriti Mandhana remained the highest-paid women cricketer in the WPL with 3.4 crores, alongside Ash Gardner and Nat-Sciver’s 3.2 crore bid, which was ranked 2nd among the highest bids. 

WPL 2024 Schedule

The 22-match tournament will be played from the 23rd of February to the 17th of March with no doubleheaders. All matches are to be played at 7:30 PM IST.

    DATE                                Matches
23rd Feb Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals
24th FebRoyal Challengers Bangalore vs UP Warriorz
25th FebGujarat Giants vs Mumbai Indians
26th FebUP Warriorz vs Delhi Capitals
27th FebRoyal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Giants
28th FebMumbai Indians vs UP Warriorz
29th FebRoyal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals
1st MarchUP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants
2nd MarchRoyal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians
3rd MarchDelhi Capitals vs Gujarat Giants
4th MarchUP Warriorz vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
5th MarchDelhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians
6th MarchRoyal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Giants
8th MarchDelhi Capitals vs UP Warriorz
9th MarchMumbai Indians vs Gujarat Giants
10th MarchDelhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
11th MarchGujarat Giants vs UP Warriorz
12th MarchMumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
13th MarchDelhi Capitals vs Gujarat Giants
Source: WPL

Read More: IPL 2024 CSK vs KKR: Head-To-Head Stats, Retained, Released Players and Complete Squad

The only playoff will be played on the 15th of March in 2024, where the teams in the 2nd and 3rd position of the points table will feature in the Eliminator.

The Final is scheduled to be played on the 17th of March 2024.

WPL 2023 & 2024: Prize Money 

WPL 2023 – The winning team, the Mumbai Indians, took home a lump sum of 6 crores INR, along with 3 crores taken home by the runners-up Delhi Capitals. 

The UP Warriors, who lost the playoffs to the Mumbai Indians, reportedly earned third place with a cash prize of INR 1 crore. 

WPL 2024 – The appropriate details of the prize money will be provided after the season finale but for now the supposed cash prizes remain to be 6 crores for the winning side and 3 crores for the runners-up. 

Other than the award money several individual awards included the: 

  • Orange Cap holder for Most Runs – Rs. 5 Lakhs
  • Purple Cap holder for Most Wickets – Rs. 5 Lakhs
  • Man of the Match (Final) – 2.5 Lakhs
  • Power Striker of the Season – Rs.5 Lakhs
  • Catch of the Season – Rs.5 Lakhs
  • Most Valuable Player – Rs.5 Lakhs
  • Emerging Player of the Season – Rs.5 Lakhs

Also Read: Pakistan Super League (PSL) Schedule 2024 PDF Download

WPL 2024: All Teams Squads

Delhi Capitals: Alice Capsey, Arundhati Reddy, Marizanne Kapp, Meg Lanning, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Titas Sadhu, Annabel Sutherland, Aparna Mondal, Radha Yadav, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Sneha Deepthi, Taniya Bhatia, Ashwani Kumari.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Asha Shobana, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Smriti Mandhana, Sophie Devine, Ekta Bisht, Shubha Satheesh, S Meghana, Simran Bahadur, Georgia Wareham, Kate Cross, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight (withdrawn), Indrani Roy, Kanika Ahuja, Renuka Singh, Sophie Molineux.

UP Warriorz: Alyssa Healy, Anjali Sarvani, Chamari Athapaththu, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Deepti Sharma, Soppadhandi Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Sophie Ecclestone, Tahlia McGrath, Danni Wyatt, Vrinda Dinesh, Poonam Khemnar, Grace Harris, Kiran Navgire, Saima Thakor, Gouher Sultana.

Mumbai Indians: Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Jintimani Kalita, Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Shabnim Ismail, S Sajana, Amandeep Kaur, Fatima Jaffer, Saika Ishaque, Humaira Kazi, Issy Wong, Keerthana Balakrishnan.

Gujarat Giants: Ashleigh Gardner, Beth Mooney, Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnam Shakil, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwar, Kathryn Bryce, Meghna Singh, Trisha Poojitha, Mannat Kashyap, Veda Krishnamurthy, Phoebe Litchfield, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Priya Mishra, Lauren Cheatle, Tarannum Pathan.