IPL 2024 MI vs CSK, Wankhede Stadium
Wankhede Stadium, Image Source: Twitter

IPL 2024 MI vs CSK: Head-To-Head Stats, Records, & Pitch Report of Wankhede Stadium. Mumbai Indians (MI) aim to secure their third consecutive victory as they face rivals Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in match 29 of IPL 2024 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday (April 14). MI, led by Hardik Pandya, entered the match with confidence after a strong 7-wicket victory against Royal Challengers Bangalore. On the other hand, Ruturaj Gaikwad’s CSK are also coming off a convincing win against Kolkata Knight Riders.

MI continued their winning streak by defeating RCB with an impressive run-chase, powered by fifties from Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, chasing down 198 runs in under 16 overs. Meanwhile, CSK broke their two-match losing streak with a strong performance against KKR. Ravindra Jadeja’s bowling figures of 3 for 18 limited KKR to 137/9, and then skipper Gaikwad’s unbeaten fifty ensured their third win of the season.

Also Read: Mumbai Indians (MI) IPL 2024 Players List: Full Squad, Their IPL Stats, And Probable Playing XI

MI and CSK, both five-time champions, will face each other for the 39th time in Indian Premier League history (stats are including 2 CPL matches) . MI have historically held a slight edge over CSK in their head-to-head encounters, whether the match is played at home or away. However, CSK has performed well during their visits to the Wankhede Stadium. Let’s take a closer look at the records and statistics leading up to the MI vs CSK IPL 2024 Match 29.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Mumbai Indians Sign Harvik Desai As Replacement For Injured Vishnu Vinod

MI vs CSK Head-to-Head Stats

Total matches played: 38 matches

MI won: 21 matches

CSK won: 17 matches

No result: 0

Tied: 0

Highest total: 219 runs (Mumbai Indians)

Lowest total: 79 runs (Chennai Super Kings)

MI vs CSK: IPL Stats & Records of Wankhede Stadium

Total Matches: 112 Matches

Matches won batting first: 51 matches

Matches Won batting second: 61 matches

Average 1st innings total: 169.60 runs

Highest total recorded: 235/1 by RCB 

Lowest total recorded: 67/10 by KKR

Also Read: IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Players List 2024: Full Squad, Their IPL Stats, And Probable Playing XI For Tournament

MI vs CSK: Wankhede Stadium Pitch Report

The Wankhede Stadium is gearing up for its fourth game of the season, hosting a total of seven matches in IPL 2024. Out of the 112 IPL matches played at Wankhede so far, teams batting first have won 45.45% of the time, while the chasing teams have won 54.55% of matches.

The pitch at Wankhede tends to favor batsmen, particularly in T20 cricket, offering a flat surface with good bounce and carry. However, this allows batsmen to freely play their shots, setting the stage for an exciting battle between bat and ball.

The Wankhede Stadium is well-known for its pitch that favors batsmen, offering a flat surface and short boundaries that make it easier to score runs. Also, captains usually prefer to field first, taking advantage of any initial assistance for fast bowlers. Later on, dew can affect the playing conditions, making it advantageous for the team chasing the target to score more freely.

MI vs CSK Full Squad (Updated)

Mumbai Indians Full Squad

Shreyas Gopal, Rohit Sharma, Kumar Kartikeya, Ishan Kishan, Mohammad Nabi, Luke Wood, Naman Dhir, Nuwan Thushara, Tim David, Piyush Chawla, Anshul Kamboj, Arjun Tendulkar, Hardik Pandya (c), Jasprit Bumrah, Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Shams Mulani, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera, Gerald Coetzee, Shivalik Sharma, Akash Madhwal, N. Tilak Varma, Romario Shepherd.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Full Schedule, Results, And Player Of The Match Award

Chennai Super Kings Full Squad

Shardul Thakur, Rachin Ravindra, Deepak Chahar, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ajay Mandal, Mitchell Santner, Mustafizur Rahman, Shivam Dube, Avanish Rao Aravelly, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Maheesh Theekshana, Nishant Sindhu, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Choudhary, Sameer Rizvi, Ravindra Jadeja, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Shaik Rasheed, Ruturaj Gaikwad (C).