IND vs AUS 2nd ODI
Image Source- BCCI

IND vs AUS 2nd ODI: India Beat Australia By 99 Runs And Take Unassailable Lead Of 2-0. Thanks to the brilliant performance of first the batsmen and then the bowlers, India has taken an unbeatable lead in the 3-match ODI series against Australia by winning the second match by 99 runs. Steve Smith took command today in place of Australia’s regular captain Pat Cummins. India won the 1st ODI played at Mohali by 5 wickets. The next and last match will be played at Rajkot on Sep 26.

Smith won the toss and decided to bowl first but this decision proved wrong. Indian batsmen batted brilliantly and made the highest score so far in the ODI against Australia of 399 runs at the loss of 5 wickets in 50 overs.

Shreyas Iyer scored 105(90) Shubman Gill made 104(97). It was Gill’s 6th ODI hundred from just 35 innings, incredible consistency, and dominance by a 24-year-old in world cricket. After the brilliant innings today, Shubman Gill became the first batter to score 1900 runs after 35 innings in ODI history.

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023: Team India Players List, Squad, Their ODI Stats And Full Schedule

It was KL Rahul’s 9th match as ODI captain and the 148th ODI between these two cricketing giants. Out of 148 matches Australia won 82 whereas India came victorious in 54 matches. Under Rahul’s captaincy, India won the 6th ODI. The Aussies won the last ODI series in India by 2-1 in March 2023.

In today’s match two Indian batsmen scored centuries and two scored half-centuries. Suryakumar Yadav played a stormy inning of unbeaten 72 runs in just 37 balls, captain Rahul also scored 52 runs in 38 balls.

The match was interrupted several times due to rain during Australia’s innings. Australia got the target of 317 runs in 33 overs using dls method. Australia all out on 217 in 28.2 overs .

INS vs AUS 2nd ODI Brief Scorecard

India- 399/5 (50 Overs)

Shreyas- 105, Gill- 104, Surya- 72, KL- 52, Ishan- 31
Green- 10/2, Hazlewwon, Zampa & Abbott took 1 wicket each

Australia- 217/10 (28.2 Overs)

Sean- 54, Warner- 53, Marnus- 27
Ashwin- 3, Jadeja- 3, Krishna- 2, Shami- 1

IND vs AUS 2nd ODI Playing 11

David Warner, Short, Steve Smith (C), M Labuschagne, Inglis, Carey, Green, Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Spencer Johnson

KL Rahul, Ruturaj, Shami, P Krishna, R Jadeja, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Iyer, S Gill, S Thakur, R Ashwin, Surya