Updated: 15 March 2022

Cricket is a game of audio-video delight. Gone are the days when we used to enjoy the match only by seeing the action. The importance of commentary has increased manifold since the last few years. Now even a boring IPL match also seems interesting when we hear the commentators providing the commentary in innovative ways.

The commentary nowadays involves on-field action coverage but also includes pre and post-match analysis which has become an integral part of any cricket match production.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Captains Of All 10 Teams, Their IPL Salary, Stats & Net Worth

Star India, the official broadcaster of the TATA IPL 2022 spends crores of rupees in hiring world-class commentators into their panel. The matches are telecasted in Hindi, English along a few other regional languages.

For this purpose, the channel appoints a fleet of more than 30 commentators. Their role is to provide live commentary through innovative ways and at the same time a visual delight.

Salaries Of Cricket Commentators In IPL 2022

The IPL commentary panel consists of a few super-star players of the old generation. Indian commentators such as Sunil Gavaskar, Harsha Bhogle, Sanjay Manjrekar, Aakash Chopra, to name a few have been doing commentary in IPL for the last few years.

Also Read: TATA IPL: Who Will Win IPL (Indian Premier League) 2022?

Few international commentators such as Simon Dull, Mark Nicolas, Ion Bishop, and Danny Morrison have felt in the IPL. These commentators are paid good salaries to make the audience dance to their tune.

You might be wondering how much these commentators are paid!! Let us have a look.

There are basically three main categories of IPL commentators. These are:

1> English Panel ($2,50,000- 5,00,000 salary range)
2> Hindi Panel ($80,000- 3,50,000 salary range)
3> Dugout ($5,00,000- 7,00,000 salary range)


Given below is the salary of the commentators in IPL 2022. These figures are for the entire season of IPL 2022. The amount mentioned is in USD.

Salary of Hindi commentators:

  1. Akash Chopra ($350,000)
  2. Ashish Nehra ($200,000)
  3. Gautam Gambhir ($200,000)
  4. Irfan Pathan ($200,000)
  5. Ajit Agarkar ($200,000)
  6. Kiran More ($200,000)
  7. Sanjay Bangar ($80,000)
  8. Nikhil Chopra ($80,000)

Also Read: IPL 2022 Man Of The Match Award

Salary of English Commentators:

  1. Harsha Bhogle (India) ($500,000)
  2. Ian Bishop (West Indies) ($500,000)
  3. Michael Slater (Australia) ($500,000)
  4. Sunil Gavaskar (India) ($500,000)
  5. Mark Nicholas (England) ($500,000)
  6. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) ($500,000)
  7. Simon Doull (New Zealand) ($350,000)
  8. Danny Morrison (New Zealand) ($350,000)

Also Read: MS Dhoni IPL Career: Year-Wise Runs, Stats, Records Against All IPL Teams

  1. Deep Dasgupta (India) ($250,000)
  2. Rohan Gavaskar (India) ($250,000)
  3. Darren Ganga (West Indies) ($250,000)
  4. Siva Ramakrishnan (India) ($250,000)
  5. Anjum Chopra (India) ($250,000)
  6. Lisa Sthalekar (Australia) ($250,000)
  7. JP Duminy (South Africa) ($250,000)
  8. Murali Karthik (India) ($250,000)

Also Read: IPL 2022 Prize Money, Start Date, Auction Date, Team List, Broadcasting Rights, And What You Need To Know

Salary of Dugout commentators: ($5,00,000-7,00,000)

  1. Graeme Swann (England)
  2. Scott Styris (New Zealand)
  3. Brian Lara (West indies)
  4. Brett Lee (Australia)

Also Read: IPL 2022 Match No 1, CSK vs KKR: Dream11 Team, Scorecard, Head-To-Head, Winning Prediction & Match Report

Regional Commentators

Apart from English and Hindi commentary, IPL also looks after the regional aspect. They have few commentators who are specially assigned to provide match commentary in languages such as Bengali, Kannada, Tamil, Telugu, Marathi.

The exact salary of such commentators has not been disclosed. It is expected that they are paid in the range of $80,000-1,50,000.

Note- IPL 2022 official commentators are yet to be announced. These are previous years’ lists. Stay tuned for the latest updates.