IPL 2023: Top 5 Run Chase By Royal Challengers Bangalore In IPL History

Updated: 09 May 2023

IPL 2023
Image Source: Twitter.com/IPL

IPL 2023: Top 5 Run Chase By Royal Challengers Bangalore In IPL History: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has always been noted for its batting skills in the Indian Premier League (IPL). If we look back in RCB history, we will discover athletes that have been power hitters their whole lives. For example, the RCB possessed Caribbean power hitter Chris Gayle, who was noted for his big sixes and power-hitting skills.

The RCB’s batting prowess has always been on show. It is obvious from the record books that RCB has three of the top five highest scores in IPL history, including the highest total of 264 runs versus Pune Warriors in 2013, in which Chris Gayle got the highest individual score in T20s of 175 runs. 

RCB’s batting talents not only led the board in first-inning scoring but they are also recognized for chasing big totals in IPL. Here are some of the most spectacular chases by Royal Challenger Bangalore in the IPL.

Top 5 Highest Chases By RCB

204 vs PBKS IPL 2010

Punjab Kings (Formerly known as Kings XI Punjab) batted first in the seventh match of the IPL 2010 at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium. PBKS scored 204 runs with 77 from Ravi Bopara and 75 from Manvindar Bisla.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore batted second and made history by chasing this mammoth total. South African legend Jacques Kallis scored 89 runs not out and was named man of the match for his outstanding performance; he also grabbed one wicket. Robin Uthappa, like Kallis, scored 51 runs.

184 vs KKR IPL 2016

At the Eden Garden Stadium, Kolkata Knight Riders scored 183 runs against RCB in the 48th match of the IPL 2016. Captain Gautam Gambhir scored 51 runs off 34 balls, and Manish Pandey added 50 runs off 35 balls.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Top 5 Highest Run Chase In Indian Premier League (IPL)

Chris Gayle, the RCB’s opening batsman, couldn’t stay long and was out at 49. Captain Virat Kohli, on the other hand, stood steady and hit 75 not out. Mr 360 ABD and Kohli also enjoyed a fantastic partnership, and they won the game with 9 wickets in hand.

183 vs PSW IPL 2012

The Pune Super Warriors (now defunct) batted first in the 21st match of the IPL 2012 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. Pune scored 182 runs thanks to Robin Uthhappa’s 69 runs. Jesse Ryder and Marlon Samuels both scored 34 runs.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore came down to chase but lost three early wickets, including skipper Virat Kohli. However, Chris Gayle stood there and scored 81 runs, including 8 sixes. Although he couldn’t finish the game got out when the team score was 127. ABD then came to bat and put the finishing touches on the game. He smashed 33 runs in 14 balls and chased down this total.

181 vs PBKS IPL 2010

In the 2010 IPL, RCB and PBKS played some high-stakes matches. In their second encounter, PBKS batted first again and scored a total of 181 runs. Kumar Sangakkara batted first and made 45 runs, forming a solid partnership with Yuvraj Singh and Ravi Bopara.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore came to chase this enormous total and lost their openers extremely early, within a score of 54 runs. England’s blaster batsman Kevin Peterson, had a terrific partnership with Virat Kohli, scoring 66 and 44 runs respectively. Peterson stayed not out and led RCB to victory in 19 overs.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Orange Cap, Purple Cap And Updated Points Table

181 vs DC (Deccan Chargers) IPL 2012

The 50th match of the IPL 2012 was played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore between RCB and Decan Chargers (now defunct). DC opener Shikhar Dhawan scored not out 73 runs and the team, scored 181 runs. Dhawan also had an 86-run opening partnership with Daniel Harries.

RCB arrived to chase the score and witnessed the collapse of the upper and middle order. However, opener TM Dilshan stood firm and scored 71 runs, forming an excellent partnership with ABD, who scored 47 runs. ABD and JS Mohammad stayed till the end, winning the game in 19 overs.