Updated: 13 January 2022

VIVO IPL 2021 was completed on 15th Oct in UAE. But The BCCI is set to introduce a major change in the IPL 2022, starting with the mega auction.

The BCCI & IPL governing council had even thought of an expansion of a 10-teams IPL rather than 8 just after the 2020 season but it got delayed due to Corona.

Also Read: Ahmedabad IPL Team 2022: Players List, Captain, Head Coach, Owner, Logo, Jersey, Home Ground & Sponsor

The big change from 8-team to 10-team tournament is likely to be made from the 15th edition of the IPL. And this change with the addition of two new teams will also bring about a change in the IPL format.

Two New Teams In IPL 2022

Ahmedabad & Lucknow are the two new IPL Teams owned by – Sanjeev Goenka ( Lucknow- 7090 cr) – CVC capital – Ahmedabad – 5625 CR

Also Read: Lucknow IPL Team 2022: Captain, Players List, Head Coach, Owner, Logo, Jersey, And All You Need To Know

IPL 2022 New Format

IPL presently is held in a round-robin format with every team playing against the other 7 teams twice in the league round. The tournament then enters the playoffs with 2 Qualifiers and 1 Eliminator round before the final. Now, the round-robin league format would need to be converted into a group format with 10 teams being divided into two groups of 5.

BCCI is not ready for 94 matches yet. Even broadcasters are not ready. There are issues around foreign player availability and finding a suitable window for IPL.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Team List, Captains, Home Ground, Head Coaches, And Owners

Format changes in IPL 2022

The mega auction, IPL franchise can retain a total of 4 players. New teams can retain 3 players from the auction pool.

There will be a total of 74-matches in IPL 2022. 10 IPL teams will be divided into 2 groups.

The total duration of IPL matches will be a 60-day season, currently, it’s a 54-day season.

There will be an increase in salary cap by the IPL franchise.

Also Read:IPL: 6 Most Expensive Players In Indian Premier League History And Their Performance

IPL 2022 Mega Auction Date – 12 & 13 February (Bengaluru)

IPL 2022 Live Streaming

You can watch IPL 2022 live on Star sports (10 channels in 6 languages) Tata Group will be the title sponsor of IPL 2022, so now the name of this IPL will be Tata IPL 2022.