Chokers in a sporting event mean a team or a person who fails to cross the final or penultimate hurdle. In Cricket, we have associated the South African team with this tag. This is due to their performance in the ICC tournaments. They have held this tag for a very long time.

It seems now they have got a new companion to share this unauspicious tag. Team India has begun to resemble the South African team, who perform well throughout the league stage but have failed to cross the knockout hurdle.

Also Read: ICC WTC 2023: World Test Championship Full Schedule 2021-23, New Points System

ICC WTC final was a much-anticipated event. All eyes were on team India. They had a memorable outing in Australia last year, winning the series 2-1. But the way Virat Kohli and his men performed on the final day of the match, they lost it to New Zealand in an unexpected manner.

This humiliating defeat by eight wickets made the Cricket pundits criticize the Indian team for this dismal performance. Social media was abuzz with many comments calling the Indian team the new “Chockers” of ICC events.

Also Read: ICC WTC Final 2021: Why Did India Lose To New Zealand In The WTC Final?

If we go by the record of the past seven years in ICC events, there is no denying the fact that India has failed to pass the final hurdle. This was the sixth straight loss for India in the knockout stages of ICC events.

The last win came way back in the year 2013, against England in the ICC Champions trophy. The team led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the match by five runs, on the same date that is 23rd June, the day when they lost the ICC WTC final last month.

Also Read: ICC Hall of Fame Special Inductions Announced Ahead Of WTC Final

Since 2014, India has failed to pass the final hurdle several times. These include the following defeats:

2014 T20 World Cup final to Sri Lanka by 6 wickets.

2015 50-over World Cup to Australia by 95 runs.

2016 T20 World Cup semi-final to West Indies by 7 wickets.

2017 Champions Trophy final to Pakistan by 180 runs.

Also Read: Team India’s Non Stop Cricket Schedule From 2021 To March 2023

2019 50-over World Cup semi-final to New Zealand by 18 runs.

Out of these six losses, the first three have come under MS Dhoni’s captaincy, while in the latter three, Virat Kohli has been in the receiving end. It seems the pressure starts mounting when they reach the final or the semi-final stages. The expectation of 1.35 billion people and many more from across the globe seems to down fire for the Indian team.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: 3 Teams That Are Favourites To Win The Title

The Indian Cricket team is one of the best among all other Cricket playing nations. They have shined at the global level for the last 5-6 years with their sheer dominance. We expect that the upcoming ICC T20 cricket world cup 2021 will start a new beginning for India, and they will slay the demons as far as winning the ICC events is concerned.