On Sunday (13th June), the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced a special edition of the ICC Hall of Fame ahead of the World Test championship final. A total of 10 new members have been added to the list of 93 members, taking the total to 103.

ICC Hall of Fame, A Brief History

In 2009, the International Cricket Council (ICC) Hall of Fame was introduced in association with the FICA (Federation of International Cricketers Association ) as part of the ICC’s centenary year celebrations. The main motto of ICC behind this fame is to recognize and admire the legends of Cricket who have made the sport what it is today.

Also Read : BCCI Vs ICC – Which Is More Powerful?

This event takes place every year. The players who have passed away are provided with ICC Cricket Hall of fame cap. Out of 103 current members, England has a maximum of 30 players, followed by 29 from Australia and 20 from the West Indies.

The rest 24 players are from other test-playing nations. Out of 103 players, 9 women cricketers have also managed to enter this exclusive list of all-time greats.

Criteria To Enter Into The ICC Hall of Fame?

  1. He/she should have completed at least 5 years after retirement.
  2. The batsman should have scored a minimum of 8,000 runs and 20 centuries in any of the two major formats, such as ODI and Test, or should have a batting average of over 50 in one of the two formats.

Also Read: ICC Announces Expansion Of Global Events

3. Bowlers must have taken more than 200 wickets in any one of the formats, either in Test or the ODI. They need to know that the strike rate in Tests should be 50 and 30 in ODIs

4. Wicketkeepers can also enter this list if they have effected a minimum of 200 dismissals in either or both formats.

5. The captain must have led his side in at least 25 Tests and/or 100 ODIs with a win percentage of a minimum of 50 percent or more in either or both the formats.


ICC Hall of Fame 2021, New Entrants

A total of 10 new entrants has been announced from 5 Era of Cricket. These are as follows:

Early Cricket Era (Pre- 1918)- Aubrey Faukner (South Africa), Monty Noble (Australia).

Inter-War Cricket Era (1918-1945)- Sir Learie Constantine (West indies), Stan McCabe (Australia).

Post-War Cricket Era (1946-1970)- Vinoo Mankad (India), Ted Dexter (England).

ODI Era (1971-1995)- Desmond Haynes (West Indies), Bob Willis (England)

Modern Cricket Era (1996-2016)- Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Andy Flower (Zimbabwe).

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Team, Individual Records & Stats

Indian Players in the ICC Hall of Fame list:

Bishan Singh Bedi- 2009

Kapil Dev-2009

Sunil Gavaskar-2009

Anil Kumble-2015

Rahul Dravid-2018

Sachin Tendulkar-2019

Vinoo Mankad-2021 (Latest entrant)