India vs Afghanistan
Image Source: Twitter @BCCI

India vs Afghanistan, T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8:: Suryakumar Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah Shine in India’s 47-Run Victory. India triumphed in their opening T20 World Cup Super 8 match, securing a thrilling 47-run victory! Their strong batting set a challenging target of 181 runs, and their bowlers followed up with tight, disciplined bowling, ensuring Afghanistan couldn’t chase it down.

Rohit Sharma, the captain of India, won the toss and decided to bat first. The 2007 champions brought in left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav in place of right-arm fast bowler Mohammed Siraj. Meanwhile, Hazratullah Zazai came in for Karim Janat in the Afghanistan side. When Rohit Sharma decided to bat first, Suryakumar Yadav’s rapid half-century pushed India to 181 for 8 in 20 overs against Afghanistan.

Rashid Khan and Fazalhaq Farooqi broke into India’s top & middle-order lineup but an amazing 60-run stand between Suryakumar and Hardik Pandya saved things for them. Taking 3 wickets for 33 runs, Farooqi turned out as Afghanistan’s best bowler.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8: Schedule, Venues, Time In IST, Results, And Player Of The Match

In the opening over, Afghanistan notched up 12 runs. But things took a turn when Jasprit Bumrah picked a wicket on the second delivery of his spell as a result of this Afghanistan kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. Both Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh claimed 3 wickets each which helped India win the match against Afghanistan by 47 runs and maintain their unbeaten run so far in the tournament.

Also Read: India Cricket 2024-25 Home Schedule: Full List of Matches, Venues, Fixtures, and Dates

INDIA vs Afghanistan Super 8 Playing XI

India: Virat Kohli, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (w), Jasprit Bumrah, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav.

Afghanistan: Hazratullah Zazai, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (w), Mohammad Nabi, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Rashid Khan (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Naveen-ul-Haq, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Gulbadin Naib.