Image Source: Star Sports/ Twitter

Updated: 24 July 2023

ICC ODI World Cup Winners List, Host and Man Of The Tournament: The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup. From October 5 to November 19, 2023, it will be held in India across 10 venues. There will be 10 teams competing in the tournament.

The current champions are England, who won the previous event in 2019. India will be the lone host of the first men’s Cricket World Cup. They co-hosted the 1987, 1996, and 2011 championships with other Indian subcontinent countries.

The ICC World Cup has been played in 12 editions to date. The inaugural tournament was held in 1975 in England, with eight teams competing. West Indies defeated Australia in the final to claim the inaugural World Cup.

In 1987, India and Pakistan co-hosted the World Cup for the first time outside of England. For the first time in ODI history, 50-over matches were played.

Australia is the most successful team in World Cup history, having won it five times. With two championships apiece, the West Indies and India are second on the list, followed by Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England, all of which have won the World Cup once.

Here is a list of all World Cup winners, captains, and players of the tournament

List Of ODI World Cup Winners From 1975 To Date

YearWinnerRunner- UpWinning CaptainMan Of The TournamentHost
1975West IndiesAustraliaClive LloydEngland
1979West IndiesEnglandClive LloydEngland
1983IndiaWest IndiesKapil DevEngland
1987AustraliaEnglandAllan BorderIndia, Pakistan
1992PakistanEnglandImran KhanMartine CroweAustralia, New Zealand
1996Sri LankaAustraliaArjuna RanatungaSanath JayasuriyaIndia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
1999AustraliaPakistanSteve WaughLance KlusenerEngland
2003AustraliaIndiaRicky PointingSachin TendulkarSouth Africa
2007AustraliaSri LankaRicky PointingGlenn McGrathWest Indies
2011IndiaSri LankaM S DhoniYuvraj SinghIndia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew ZealandMichael ClarkeMitchell StarcAustralia, New Zealand
2019EnglandNew ZealandEoin MorganKane WilliamsonEngland, Whales

Please Note: Player Of The Tournament award has been started from 1992 World Cup. Hence records are only available from 1992