ICC World Cup 2023
Image Source: ICC

Updated: 28 October 2023

ODI World Cup 2023: India vs England Head-To-Head Records And Stats In World Cup. Many experts and cricket pundits have dubbed the India vs. England World Cup clash as the match of the tournament. The two hot favorites will face each other in the round-robin game at Ekana Stadium in Lucknow on Oct 29.

The defending champions as well as the current T20 champions – England are in red-hot form. India too are strong contenders and playing at home will give them an advantage. Moreover, India will look to avenge the 10-wicket rout at the hands of England in last year’s T20 World Cup semi-finals. 

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup is scheduled to begin on Thu, 5 Oct, 2023, and conclude on Sun, 19 Nov, 2023. Australia boasts the highest number of victories in the ICC ODI World Cup, having won the World Cup 5 times and finishing as the runner-up 2 times. India and the West Indies follow closely with 2 World Cup titles each. This tournament promises to showcase the best of cricketing talent and fervor from around the world.

Let’s revisit the past World Cup encounters between the two sides and predictions for this match. 

Also Read: ICC ODI World Cup 2023: 5 Richest Cricketers (Virat Kohli On Top) Playing In The Tournament

India vs England Head-to-Head Records & Stats In ODI World Cup

The two teams met 8 times in World Cup with England winning 4 matches and India coming out on top on 3 occasions. One match was tied. 

  1. 1975 World Cup Group A Match at Lord’s Cricket Ground 

England won the game by 202 runs. The player of the match was Denis Amiss. 

  1. 1983 World Cup Semi-Finals at Old Trafford, Manchester 

India won the game by 6 wickets. The player of the match was Mohinder Amarnath. 

  1. 1987 World Cup Semi-Finals at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 

England won the game by 35 runs. The player of the match was Graham Gooch. 

  1. 1992 World Cup at Perth, Australia 

England won the game by 9 runs. The player of the match was Ian Botham. 

  1. 1999 World Cup Group A Match at Birmingham, England

India won the game by 63 runs. The player of the match was Sourav Ganguly 

  1. 2003 World Cup Pool A Match at Durban 

India won the game by 82 runs. The player of the match was Ashish Nehra 

  1. 2011 World Cup Group B Match at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 

Match tied. The player of the match was Andrew Strauss. 

  1. 2019 World Cup match at Birmingham, England 

England won the match by 31 runs. The player of the match was Johnny Bairstow  

Also Read: IPL 2024: Four ODI World Cup 2023 Players RCB Can Target In The Auction

ICC World Cup 2023 Match Prediction: India vs England 

Both teams are batting powerhouses with star-studded hitters on both sides. It will be a mouth-watering clash as England will come out with ultra-aggressive intent against a quality Indian attack. The Indian bowlers will be up for the challenge and will try to restrict England’s batters. Much will depend on the pitch because if it is a belter, England will have an advantage.

However, if there is even a slight turn in that case India will have the upper hand. England are the current defending champions and their recent white ball form is quite impressive. It will be a tall order for India to get past England. 

Match Prediction     

England 55% – India 45%

When and Where to Watch India vs England

The match will start at 02:00 PM IST. One can watch the game in English and Hindi on Star Sports Network. Viewers can also watch the match on the Disney+ Hotstar app in English and various regional languages. 

Squad Details: ICC World Cup 2023

India Squad

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, KL Rahul, R Ashwin, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Shami, Ishan Kishan, Shubhman Gill and Shardul Thakur

Also Read: Babar Azam’s Captaincy In Jeopardy: PCB Hints Change During ICC ODI World Cup 2023

England Squad 

Jos Buttler (Captain), Chris Woakes, Joe Root, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, Gus Atkinson, Moeen Ali, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Jason Roy, Johnny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood, and David Willey