ICC Men's ODI Cricketer Of The Year
Image Source: Twitter

ICC Awards 2023: ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer Of The Year 2023 Nominees Announced, Featuring Virat Kohli. Shortlisted for the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023 Award are four players who showcased outstanding performances in the Cricket World Cup held in India. Among the nominees for the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023, the list boasts three formidable batsmen Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, and Daryl Mitchell.

Additionally, standing out as the premier bowler from the ODI World Cup 2023 is Mohammed Shami, recognized for his exceptional prowess in the tournament. These four individuals have left an indelible mark on the cricketing world, earning their well-deserved spots in contention for the prestigious award.

Also Read: ICC Awards 2023: Suryakumar Yadav Among Nominees For ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer Of The Year 2023

Shubman Gill

In 2023, Shubman Gill showcased significant growth in international cricket, particularly in ODIs. His outstanding performances yielded 1584 runs at an impressive average of 63.36, marking a pivotal year for the young cricketer. Among Indian ODI batsmen, Gill’s run tally was the fifth-highest in a single year, trailing behind only Sachin Tendulkar (1996, 1998), Rahul Dravid (1999), and Sourav Ganguly (1999).

Gill, a reliable presence at the top order alongside captain Rohit Sharma, contributed to several memorable opening partnerships. Despite missing the initial matches of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 due to dengue fever, he returned strongly with a half-century against Bangladesh. Gill concluded the tournament with 354 runs at an average of 44.25, including four fifties and an unforgettable unbeaten 80, where he retired hurt momentarily due to cramps but made a resilient comeback in the final over.

Mohammed Shami

Mohammed Shami, after a lacklustre first half of 2023, delivered a stellar performance in the latter part, reaching his peak at the Cricket World Cup for India. Despite missing the initial games, Shami made a remarkable comeback, emerging as the highest wicket-taker in the tournament with an impressive tally of 24 wickets at an astonishing average of 10.7.

Also Read: Team India’s Action-Packed 2024 Cricket Calendar: Exploring Exciting Matches and IPL Buzz

His outstanding contributions included three five-wicket hauls and a four-wicket haul in the seven matches he played, showcasing his bowling prowess. Moreover, Shami set a new record as India’s leading wicket-taker in Men’s Cricket World Cups, amassing a total of 55 wickets in just 18 games.

Virat Kohli 

Virat Kohli continued his resurgence from 2022 into a spectacular 2023, showcasing peak form in ODIs and culminating with a Player of the Tournament performance at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. As India’s number three, he impressively recorded at least a half-century in nine out of his 11 innings during the World Cup, accumulating a remarkable 765 runs. This achievement set a new record for the most runs scored by an individual batter at a men’s Cricket World Cup, surpassing the previous milestone set by Sachin Tendulkar in 2003.

Kohli concluded the tournament with an extraordinary average of 95.62 and a strike rate of 90.31. His stellar contributions included three centuries, notably securing one in the semi-finals against New Zealand.

Daryl Mitchell

Daryl Mitchell had a modest start to the year in the bilaterals in Pakistan and India, as well as the home series against Sri Lanka. However, he orchestrated a spectacular turnaround with consecutive centuries in Pakistan in April. His momentum continued with another ton in England, but the pinnacle of his performance came in the World Cup, where he assumed the role of New Zealand’s middle-order linchpin, especially in the absence of Kane Williamson for a significant part of the tournament.

Mitchell’s explosive batting at the World Cup resulted in an impressive 552 runs at an average of 69 and a strike rate exceeding 100. Notably, he achieved two centuries against India, showcasing his prowess against one of the tournament’s most formidable bowling attacks.