The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced on 25th Feb that the 10 IPL 2022 teams will play 14 league matches each (7 home and 7 away). Teams will twice place against same group teams and their exact opposite in the other group (i.e – CSK vs MI twice). Each IPL team will play 5 teams twice and the remaining four teams only once.

Also Read: TATA IPL: Who Will Win IPL (Indian Premier League) 2022?

To ensure this, the 10 teams have been divided into 2 virtual groups of five. TATA IPL 2022 groups were decided based on the IPL trophy won & the number of final appearances. The top 4 teams will be qualifying as per the Points Table like previously, there won’t be two different Points Tables group-wise in IPL 2022.

IPL 2022 Groups

Group A – MI,DC, LSG,KKR, RR
Group B – CSK, SRH, GT, RCB, PBKS.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Man Of The Match Award

The 2 Groups Shape Up Of TATA IPL 2022 As:

Each team will play twice against the teams in their group & against the team in the same row in the other group. Against the remaining 4 teams in the other group, each team will play only once during the season.

For example, Kolkata will play twice in the league stages against Mumbai, Delhi, Rajasthan, Lucknow & Hyderabad (the team in the same row in the other group). Against Chennai, Bangalore, Punjab & Gujrat, Kolkata Knight Riders will play only once. The IPL 2022 format is similar to that used for the 2011 season when IPL had two new teams: Kochi Tuskers Kerala & Pune Warriors.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Captains Of All 10 Teams, Their IPL Salary, Stats & Net Worth

TATA IPL 2022 Start Date

IPL 2022 will start on March 26 and the finals will be played on May 29, with 70 league matches set to be played across four venues in Mumbai (Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne Stadium, DY Patil Stadium) & Pune (MCA International Stadium).

IPL 2022 Stadiums List

Each team will play 4 matches each at Wankhede & DY Patil Stadium, and 3 matches each at Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and MCA International Stadium, Pune. The entire tournament will be played in a bio-bubble at a single hub to avoid air travel which is considered a major threat to the spread of COVID-19, thereby affecting the players and the matches.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Indian Premier League 2022 Points Table, Team Rankings, Net Run Rate

The venue for the playoff matches of TATA IPL 2022 will be decided at the end of this month.

IPL 2022 League Matches Venues

IPL 2022 Venue Number of Matches
Mumbai – Wankhede Stadium 20 Matches
Mumbai – DY Patil Stadium 20 Matches
Mumbai – Brabourne Stadium (CCI) 15 Matches
Pune – MCA International Stadium 15 Matches