WTC Final 2023: Rohit Sharma Has Never Lost A Final As A Captain, Can He Pull Off His 9th Final

WTC Final2023: Rohit Sharma Has Never Lost A Final As A Captain, Can He Pull Off His 9th Final : India will meet Australia in the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023 at the Oval in London. The match will commence on June 7 to 11 2023. With less than a few hours till the big game. Everyone is wondering how their favorite team will do in this Final.

Image Source: BCCI/ Twitter

The BCCI announced the team lineup for the WTC Final 2023 on April 25. Which led by current Team India Captain Rohit Sharma. The fact that India skipper Rohit Sharma has only captained India in six Tests since taking over from Virat Kohli in 2022. Rohit Sharma had a remarkable start as India cricket team’s full-time Test captain. After an amazing start to his captaincy reign in limited-overs cricket.

In his first test match as a captain India defeated Sri Lanka by inning and 226 runs in the first Test at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium, completing a 2-0 sweep of the Lankan Tigers. The Nagpur native is India’s 35th Test captain and the country’s eighth oldest rookie Test skipper.

Currently in the early stages of his Test captaincy. Sharma ranks joint 17th on the list of cricketers who have played the most Tests for India as captain. It is also worth noting that he is the only Indian skipper with a victory percentage of 75 (minimum two Tests).

Also Read: WTC Final 2023: Strongest Predicted Playing 11 For India vs Australia, Squads, Pitch And Weather Report

Stats And Records Of Rohit Sharma’s Captaincy In Test Matches

Matches Played: 6

Wins: 4

Losses/Tied: 1/1

Largest Win: innings and 222 runs against Sri Lanka in 2022

Smallest Win: won by 6 wickets against Australia in 2023

Highest Score: 574/8d by India 2022

Lowest Score: 91/10 by Australia in 2023

Highest Individual Score: 186 by Virat Kohli vs Australia in 2023

Most Runs: 443 by Cheteshwar Pujara

Best Bowling: 8/64 by Nathan Lyon vs India

Most Wickets: 32 Ravindra Jadeja

Also Read: IPL 2024: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Can Release 5 Players Before Auction

Rohit Sharma Has Never Lost A Final As A Captain

Rohit Sharma’s journey as captain began by leading the Mumbai Indians in the IPL in 2013. His journey as captain of the Indian cricket team and in limited-overs cricket began in 2017.

Since then, he has guided the team to victory in a number of high-stakes matches, including several finals. From the IPL to the CLT20 and from the Nidahas Trophy to the Asia Cup, he has emerged victorious in all of them.

Rohit has won all eight finals he has played in as captain. The WTC finals will be the target of the MI and India captains to increase their total to 9. The long-awaited finals will begin on June 7, 2023, and will last through June 11, 2023, assuming play on all five days. As he continues to lead from the front, the cricketing world eagerly awaits his next victory in yet another final, knowing that he is a captain who knows how to deliver when it matters the most.