ICC WTC 2023

Updated: 19 February 2023

ICC World Test Championship 2021-23: WTC Points System, Final Date, Venue, Predicted Finalists, And Updated Points Table. The ICC World Test Championship (WTC) is a championship competition for Test cricket, which is the longest format of the sport. The ICC WTC was introduced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2019, to give greater context and meaning to Test cricket, and to determine the best Test team in the world.

Under the championship format, the top nine Test-playing nations, India, Australia, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, England, West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh, and New Zealand play a series of bilateral Test series over two years.

Each team earns points based on the results of the matches they play, with higher points awarded for wins in away matches. The top two teams at the end of the two-year cycle then compete in a final match to determine the world champions.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Schedule PDF Download

ICC World Test Championship WTC 2021-23 Details

ICC WTC 2021-23 Cycle- 4 Aug 2021- 11 June 2023
Defending champion- New Zealand
ICC WTC 2023 Final Date- 7-11 June (12 June reserve day)
ICC WTC 2023 Final Venue- The Oval, London
ICC WTC 2021-23 Finalists- TBD

WTC 2021-23 Predicted Finalists

WTC 2023 finalists are yet to be decided. Australia with 70.83 PCT is at the top of the WTC points table followed by India at 61.67 PCT. Currently, the four-match Border-Gavaskar Test series is going on between India vs Australia.

Team India thrashed Australia in the first test (Nagpur Test) and took lead by 1-0. If there are not too many ups and downs, then on June 7, cricket fans will see the WTC 2021-23 final match between India and Australia at the Oval

Also Read: IPL 2023: Five Players Who Could Be Named As Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Captain For TATA IPL 2023

ICC WTC Points System

Match ResultPPCTPoints Contested

The inaugural cycle of the WTC took place from 2019 to 2021, with India and New Zealand qualifying for the final match held in June 2021 at the Rose Bowl Cricket Ground in Southampton, England. New Zealand won the final match by eight wickets, becoming the first team to be crowned ICC World Test Champion.

The second cycle of the WTC began in 4 August 2021 with the five match Pataudi trophy between India and England and is set to run until June 2023. Several bilateral Test series scheduled to take place during this period. The ICC World Test Championship final 2023 will take place from 7-12 June with a reserve day (12 June) at The Oval, London.

Also Read: IPL (Indian Premier League) vs PSL (Pakistan Super League) 2023: Player Salaries Comparison

ICC WTC Updated Points Table 2021-23

3Sri Lanka100541/053.53645
4South Africa130661/048.72765
5England (E)221084/046.971246
6West Indies (E)110452/040.91545
7Pakistan (E)140464/038.10646
8New Zealand (E)110263/027.27365
9Bangladesh (E)1201101/011.11166

E- Eliminated from WTC 2023