ODI World Cup 2023
Image Source: ICC

ICC Cricket Awards: ICC Announces Best T20I Men’s Team Of The Year 2022. The International Cricket Council (ICC) every year recognizes 11 players who have outsmarted all others with their performance and have impressed all, be it with the bat or with the ball, or have shown their extraordinary antics with their all-round exploits. 

Also Read: IPL 2023: 5 Big Signings Who Might Flop In The Tournament

ICC T20I Men’s team of the year 2022

  • Jos Buttler ( C & WK )
  • Mohammed Rizwan
  • Virat Kohli
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Sikander Raza
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Sam Curran
  • Wanindu Hasaranga
  • Haris Rauf
  • Josh Little

1. Jos Buttler ( England )

Source: ICC

Buttler had an incredible debut as a captain; after the retirement of Eoin Morgan, Buttler was appointed England’s limited-overs captain, and he achieved success in his first major tournament. Buttler scored 450+ runs in T20s, including 225 runs in the T20 World Cup with a blazing strike rate of 160. Buttler is one of those reasons that led to England’s recent rise in modern-day limited-overs cricket. 

2. Mohammad Rizwan ( Pakistan )

Rizwan scored 996 runs in the calendar year, placing him second on the ICC men’s T20 run-getters list in 2022. Rizwan seemed to have continued his form from 2021 as he had a dream run for the past 2 years in world cricket. Rizwan holds the opening spot in the ICC T20i Men’s Team for the second time after 2021.

Also Read: IPL 2023 CSK: Can Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Win Their 5th IPL Trophy Under The Captaincy Of MS Dhoni?

3. Virat Kohli ( India )

The legend in the shorter format has been in some sort of disappointment over the past few years, but he announced his return to form in the T20 World Cup of 2022. Once again, the cricketing world saw glimpses of the roaring king, who took the Asia Cup by storm and continued his tremendous form into the T20 World Cup. Kohli is the first cricketer to reach 4,000 runs in international T20 cricket. 

4. Suryakumar Yadav ( India )

Source: ICC

Nicknamed “SKY,” the Indian batter ruled the shorter format with 1164 runs in the calendar year, including two centuries and nine half-centuries at a strike rate nearing 190. Sky is one of the most engrossing cricketers of modern-day cricket, finishing the year as the No. 1 batsman in the ICC Men’s T20I Player Ratings. Sky is the most formidable player among the 11 players. 

5. Glenn Phillips ( New Zealand )

The massive allrounder from New Zealand turned out to be their star performer in 2022, especially in the T20I. He played a pivotal role in New Zealand’s course of play in the shorter format in 2022. Phillips batted 716 times and struck out 156 times. Phillips has impressed not only with the bat but also with his heroics on the field, especially when he took a gravity-defying catch against Australia in the T20 World Cup.

6. Sikander Raza ( Zimbabwe)

All the other cricketers on this list are expected to feature, as they come from eminent cricketing nations. But for someone like Raza, it is quite difficult for him to make it to the list, especially coming from a small nation like Zimbabwe. He was the sole architect of whatever good happened in Zimbabwe cricket in 2022, with 735 runs and 25 wickets.

7. Hardik Pandya ( India )

Hardik Pandya who is currently the most reliable all-rounder in world cricket carried over his outstanding form from the IPL. Pandya enjoyed probably his best knock as per numbers in the year 2022 scoring 607 runs with the bat and picking up 20 wickets for his nation.

Pandya is no doubt a perfect no.7 for the best playing 11 recognised by ICC.

8. Sam Curran ( England )

Source: ICC

Curran is probably the most talked-about T20I player in the world. Curran played an eminent role in England’s remarkable World Cup win in 2022 and has had a dream year with the ball. The young Englishman has emerged as a death-over specialist in the shorter format and was also declared the MVP of the World Cup. 

9. Wanindu Hasaranga ( Sri Lanka )

Hasaranga is on the list without surprise, as he surpassed the legendary Rashid Khan with his all-round excellence, showing resistance both with the bat and also weaving magic with the bowl, and once again proved to have the mojo as Sri Lanka reigned as Asian Champions.

10. Haris Rauf ( Pakistan )

Source: ICC

He is the second Pakistani cricketer on the list, and the fierce fast bowler has done wonders for Pakistan in the absence of their lead bowler, Shaheen Shah Afridi. Rauf picked up a total of 31 wickets, leading the Pakistani pace attack in both the Asia Cup and the T20 World Cup.

11. Josh Little ( Ireland )

Other cricketers on this list are expected to feature here as they come from eminent cricketing nations, but again, another struggling member on the list is the Irish pacer. Little finished 2022 as the second highest wicket-taker with 39 wickets and emerged as a stunning name in the ICC’s best 11.