CPL, The Hundred And Other Upcoming T20 Leagues Schedule, Venues, Teams And All You Need To Know

Updated: 11 June 2023

CPL 2023
Image Source- Twitter.com/CPL

CPL, The Hundred And Other Upcoming T20 Leagues Schedule, Venues, Teams, And All You Need To Know. Professional T20 leagues have exploded in popularity throughout the world, completely transforming the sport of cricket. These leagues offer an exciting and fast-paced version of the game that attracts both players and viewers.

The Indian Premier League (IPL), with its star-studded teams and high-profile auctions, is the most prestigious and profitable. Its popularity has sparked the formation of similar leagues throughout the world. Other notable events include Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL) and England’s T20 Blast, both of which are noted for competitive cricket and enthusiastic fans.

Furthermore, the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) shows the West Indies’ lively cricket culture, while the Pakistan Super League (PSL) captivates spectators with its explosive contests. Other prominent competitions include the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), the Global T20 Canada, and the Mzansi Super League in South Africa.

These leagues give a platform for players to display their skill, strengthen international cricket rivalries, and provide spectators throughout the world with a thrilling cricket experience.

As far as this year is concerned, the IPL and BBL are two competitions that have already concluded. However, there is still some entertainment available. So, here is the list of T20 leagues left this year.

Also Read: WTC Final 2023: Rohit Sharma Has Never Lost A Final As A Captain, Can He Pull Off His 9th Final

T20 Leagues around the World in 2023

T20 Blast (England and Whales)

The T20 Blast is a professional Twenty20 cricket event for first-class counties in England and Wales. It is now known as the Vitality Blast owing to sponsorship considerations. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) established the league in 2003. It is the major Twenty20 event in England and Wales.

Depending on the year, the 18 first-class counties compete for the trophy while initially playing in two or three separate geographic regions. In order to attract large crowds during the school summer holiday, games were scheduled to be played in a block during July and August of 2018.

Date: 25th May to 15 July 2023

No. of Teams: 18

Current Champion: Hampshire Hawks

Most Successful Team: Leicestershire Foxes (3 Wins)

Also Read: WTC Final 2023: Team India Squad With Their Test Stats

Lanka Premier League (Sri Lanka)

Since 2020, the Lanka Premier competition has been a professional cricket competition in Sri Lanka in the Twenty20 format, played annually by teams representing five Sri Lankan towns.

The Lanka Premier League (LPL) will hold its fourth season in 2023. On June 14, 2023, the player auction will take place. Before the auction, a few key players sign with five different teams. Each team may have up to six foreign players on their roster. The five teams will face each other twice during the round-robin stage. The top four teams will qualify to the playoffs.

Date: 31 July to 22 August 2023

No. of Teams: 5

Current Champion: Jaffna Kings

Most Successful Team: Jaffna Kings (3 Wins)

Caribbean Premier League

A Twenty20 cricket competition called the Caribbean Premier League is conducted there each year. In order to take over as the leading Twenty20 tournament in the Caribbean, Cricket West Indies launched it in 2013.

The Caribbean Premier League will enter its eleventh season in 2023. The matches will be held in five Caribbean countries: Trinidad and Tobago, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Guyana, Barbados, and Saint Lucia. The tournament’s schedule was announced in April 2023.

Date: 16 August to 24 September 2023.

No. of Teams: 6

Current Champion: Jamaica Tallawahs

Most Successful Team: Trinbago Knight Riders (4 Wins)

The Hundred (England and Whales)

The Hundred is a professional franchise 100-ball cricket competition contested by eight men’s and eight women’s teams from key towns around England and Wales. The event was held for the first time in July and August 2021 by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

The format was designed with the intention that each match would take around two and a half hours. This year will be the third edition of the tournament, beginning in August. This is one of the rare tournaments that include both men and women in different bouts.

Date: 1 August to 27 August 2023.

No. of Teams: 8

Current Champion: Trent Rockets

Most Successful Team: Trent Rockets