Rohit Sharma
Image Source- ICC Twitter

ICC Awards 2023: Rohit Sharma Named Captain, In ICC ODI Team Of The Year. ICC announces Men’s ODI team of the year on Tuesday, January 23. Rohit Sharma announces the captain of the ICC’s men’s ODI Team of the Year after a brilliant World Cup 2023 campaign. A total of six Indian players, including Virat Kohli, and Shubman Gill feature in the playing 11.

Team India captain continued his extraordinary record in ODI cricket with yet another fantastic year in 2023 with the bat as he amassed a whopping 1255 runs at an average of 52. Apart from Rohit and Virat Kohli, the other Indians who made it into the ODI Team of the Year are Shubman Gill, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Shami.

The other 5 players of the ODI Team of the Year 2023 were from Australia (2), South Africa (2), and New Zealand (1). Australia all-rounder Travis Head and leg-spinner Adam Zampa were the only two players from the World Cup-winning Australian squad who found a place in the elite 11. Australian captain and pacer Pat Cummins, who led his side to record sixth ODI World Cup title, failed to find a place in the ICC ODI team of the year.

Also Read: Breaking News: Virat Kohli To Skip First Two Tests Against England Citing Personal Reasons

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year

Rohit Sharma (c) (India)
Virat Kohli (India),
Shubman Gill (India)
Travis Head (Australia)
Mohammed Siraj (India)
Kuldeep Yadav (India)
Mohammed Shami (India)
Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand)
Heinrich Klaasen (wk) (South Africa)
Marco Jansen (South Africa)
Adam Zampa (Australia)

Yesterday ICC announced the T20I team of the year featuring Suryakumar Yadav as captain. Apart from Surya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravi Bishnoi, and Arshdeep Singh made it to the list.